PDA

View Full Version : Confidence level in CPO for M3?

jetstream23
07-10-2005, 02:07 AM
I'm casually looking at an '03 M3 Cabrio that would be a CPO. I've never purchased a used or CPO vehicle before and the idea of a used M3 scares the daylights out of me. Visions of some guy ignoring the break-in process and hammering on this fine sports car fill my mind, especially since most CPO's have come back off leases where the first person may not have cared as much about the car's well being. My question is how much confidence should I have in the CPO arrangement? What kind of protections (i.e. extended warranties or maintenance) should I expect? What should I look out for? I am just beginning my CPO research. Thanks for any help.

Pinecone
07-10-2005, 05:26 AM
CPO gives you a 6 year, 100K mile warranty. You also get the 6 yr, 100K engine warranty for M3 engines up to 03.

If you want extended maintenance, you have to buy that yourself. That covers Inspections, oil change, wiper blades, brakes, etc.

jetstream23
07-10-2005, 11:17 PM
CPO gives you a 6 year, 100K mile warranty. You also get the 6 yr, 100K engine warranty for M3 engines up to 03.

If you want extended maintenance, you have to buy that yourself. That covers Inspections, oil change, wiper blades, brakes, etc.

Thanks Pinecone. Is that 6 yrs, 100K from when I purchase or from '03 ?

hoog23
07-11-2005, 11:54 AM
No Thats from original in-service date.

jrp
07-11-2005, 12:15 PM
My '02 was a CPO...it was very obviously well taken care of by the previous owner. 6 months and over 5,000 miles later (33K miles total), it is still near-perfect. The only problem I've had with it was a "sticky" trunk release mechanism...my dealer fixed that.

Otherwise, the car feels just as strong as solid as my '04 that we got brand new.

vexed
07-11-2005, 12:17 PM