PDA

View Full Version : Unawared Question: How come there are no iPod connector in front of the head units?

caylan
07-17-2005, 11:42 AM
Sorry but I am not an audio expert of any sort but a logical question is: how come there has never been a design in a head unit where the iPod (or walkman be4 that) can be plugged into the FRONT of the faceplate?

It would be line level & retain all the functionality wanted by the users? :dunno:

Alex Baumann
07-17-2005, 12:25 PM
Good question. I've thought about this too. It would be a lot easier to plug an Aux unit, instead of taking the whole dash apart and fumbling with all the cables, connectors etc.

But what do I know? It took BMW years to put a CD player behind the NAV screen. It is no secret that BMW is a bit behind the years, when it comes to in-car electronics. The japanese manufacturers are the best in that regard.

ObD
07-17-2005, 12:37 PM
IMHO, in the future, there will be a removable memory slot similar to how a USB key works today. The world will become more digital. The A/D and D/A conversions cost fidelity and space.

Technic
07-17-2005, 12:38 PM
Sorry but I am not an audio expert of any sort but a logical question is: how come there has never been a design in a head unit where the iPod (or walkman be4 that) can be plugged into the FRONT of the faceplate?

It would be line level & retain all the functionality wanted by the users? :dunno:

Sound interesting until you realize that not all your customers would like to have an iPod, and having different faceplates for each MP3 player out there is not economicaly feasible for anybody.

The current AUX port accomplish 90% of your idea without the manufacturing, marketing and compatibility complications. And if car and audio manufacturers embrace the Bluetooth connectivity between their products then there will not be any need for audio ports or plugs anywhere. :D

Alex Baumann
07-17-2005, 12:52 PM