PDA

View Full Version : Bargaining for a M3, suggestions please

silvscorp
08-22-2005, 11:42 AM
Just read this other thread about a used M3, 35k miles with some what ok options and marked at 45k. As most would agree that a high 30k or very low 40k would seem decent.

Now my question is that whe negotiating such a case with a dealer, is it good way to make the approach by droping the price by $5000-6000k in one shot? Would the dealer ask you to walk right away?

Don't have much experience with such type of bargain, especially m3 holds value pretty good comparing to others.

appreciated for the help.

DDawg
08-22-2005, 12:06 PM
I've been battling (negotiating) with a few Bay Area dealer(s) on a new 2005 M3 (~$59K, comp, SMG, moon roof, HK, leather, elec driver seat, xenons). I've only been able to get $1k-$1.4K off MSRP. The dealer offering $1K off will throw in full tank of gas, car mats and a car cover so it's about a wash with the other offering $1.4K.
I'm a complete newb to the world of M3 and what I've seen on various message boards was around $2k-$3K discount, but that was in the April/May timeframe when there was probably more inventory. It's all supply and demand. KBB shows customers paying full MSRP on average-Don't know how accurate that is...

I could buy a 330 all day long at $500 over invoice and a .001335 money factor compared to the M3's at .00235-.00255 depending on security deposit.

I want to pull the trigger, but it's a lot a of money even on a lease.

silvscorp
08-22-2005, 01:55 PM
Well I've been reading through many forums related to this type of situation and everyone is saying how much I should be getting the car for. ($4000 off MSRP) But the question is how do you talk down the price by so much?

Pinecone
08-22-2005, 02:38 PM
Offer the lower price, and walk out the door if they won't go for it. And it helps to have a check in your hand to pay for the car when you negotiate.

DDawg
08-22-2005, 03:32 PM