PDA

View Full Version : NA HP formula

drsides
10-05-2005, 01:27 PM
All-
someone posted the following comment per the recent question on stuporcharging:
"You can easily get a 25% increase in power for about 2 grand going NA. "

So that brings up another line of questioning that I'm sure has been discussed before (but i havent found anything in the archives): Is it possible to go beyond 20 hp without forced induction?

Im very new to e36 m3's, but from what i've read, cam's, headers, etc dont buy you much with the e36 m3 engine. My impression is that if you want to break beyone the 250-260 mark, then you're looking at a superch, turboch, or even (heaven forbid) NOS.

If it is, what's a basic formula? cam? headers? heads?

Please tell me i'm wrong, cause i'll sure sign up for 50hp for $2K!

okay, that is all. thanks for the bandwidth.

dan

Bruce
10-05-2005, 03:34 PM
No way you will get 25% increase (that's 60 hp) for 2k on a BMW. You cand get that with the cams kits that are out there but you are looking at $4-5k including install.

Anything more than 300 crank hp you are looking at forced induction.

Pinecone
10-05-2005, 05:36 PM
It depends somewhat on which engine. The 95s with the S50 engien can get some 40HP with the intake setup with the Euro HFM and high flow injectors. Cams give more, but not that much.

For the S52 engines in 96 and later cars, you need cams to get any reasonable HP gains. BimmerWorld is working iwht Sunbelt cams right now, and are seeing over 300 HP (at the crank) without fully optimizing the software, and without headers which are really needed with cams.

Figure the full kit will run some $3000 plus install and headers another $600 - $1000 plus install.

If you want to go much more, you will need forced induction or serious work.

drsides
10-06-2005, 12:48 PM
FWIW, my m3 will be a 98, so it will be an S52.

Pinecone wrote: