PDA

View Full Version : funny noise

95blackm3
10-24-2005, 07:26 PM
just got my 1995 m3. basically stock except for some ac schnitzer bolt ons. heres the problem...whenever i give it a little gas and let off, a noise comes from the front of the motor-right in front of the engine m-power cover. it sounds like my fan is rubbing another piece of plastic-like a plastic on plastic sound. the sound i believe comes from the grey/silver cover in the front of the motor. any help is appreciated. I am new to the bimmers. i have always ran ls1's and really don't know **** about the m3 yet. I took to the dealership and let them hear it and they said maybe the timing chain, but i only have 54,000 miles on it! let me know. thanks, Jonathan

tamum3
10-25-2005, 06:35 AM
What oil are you running? I had the same noise when the dealer put 5w30 in the car. I went back to 15w40 and it cleared up the noise. Put your hand on the vanos (the cover you are talking about) and rev it up. Mine felt like something was making contact with the cover (like the chain was hitting the cover), but upon inspection it was perfectly fine. Change your oil to something a little thicker and you should be fine.

95blackm3
10-25-2005, 03:53 PM
I just bought the car like a week ago-I believe the previous owner was either running
5w-30 or 10w-30. Do you suggest running fully synthetic or not? Any other helpful pointers you have for the new car? Thanks for the help, I will try it out.

tamum3
10-26-2005, 07:01 AM
You can go full synthetic if you want, just go with something thicker. The 5w30 was like water when it came out.

What other maintenace has been done on your car?

95blackm3
10-27-2005, 08:42 AM
Not sure on any other maintenance that was done.
the previous owner said all regular scheduled maintenance was up to date.
I always ran mobile 1 fully synthetic in my trans am, what have you guys been running and what weight?

zydeone
11-15-2005, 06:35 AM