PDA

View Full Version : Shopping for a 7 series, any advice

dierks321
11-24-2005, 11:33 PM
Many years ago, in my younger days I owned a 2002Tii. It's now time to once again own a BMW. I have been shopping for a 2004 745Li. I'd like to purchase a car with less than 20000 miles. I'm on the west coast any idea on what i should be paying? Is the idrive as horrible as many say? Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

dierks321

Malibubimmer
11-25-2005, 07:38 AM
My dealer (Bob Smith of Calabasas) has dozens of what must be 2004 745is, made a little less desirable since the 750s have come out. A lot of them are new. I would go for one of those, with the iDrive computer updates, over a used model.

Dierks321 - I almost bought a 2002 Tii - in 1972 (the first year). It was an awesome car.

ssbimmerx5
12-02-2005, 07:36 AM
I really don't think the I-Drive is super hard to use. I've personally not owned a bmw with that system, but a lot of my friends have the newer 5 and 7 series. I have used it and its fine, pretty user friendly if u ask me. If people just take the time to learn how to use it, there wouldn't be problems. I cannot deny though that the software sometimes has glitches and that updates are necessary, but using the system itself isn't that bad.

ssbimmerx5
12-02-2005, 07:37 AM
good luck purchasing your 7er by the way :)

gbelton
12-02-2005, 08:07 AM
dierks321,

I started with the first model line 745Li 2001 and I've seen it all. I have had the pleasure (Good or Bad) to owned every model year except the 745Li 2004. The 2003 model was so well put together (All the bugs worked out) I did not need to purchase the 2004 but I will say at the end of the day you cannot go wrong with the Flagship. As you can see I still own a 7, the new one but it is truly a piece of fine machinery.

Now to your questions...