PDA

View Full Version : DSC - How many turn it off?

munk330ci
09-13-2002, 09:07 AM
Do a lot of people here turn it off. I've only turned it off a few times, mostly I leave it alone.

operknockity
09-13-2002, 09:20 AM
After driving much less powerfull front wheel drive cars for 21 years, but the bimmer for only 7 months, I'm not anywhere near ready to try turning DSC off. Maybe after a few track schools, but not now.

in_d_haus
09-13-2002, 09:22 AM
Only on the track...

Ack
09-13-2002, 09:23 AM
DSC has saved my butt a few times already. I can't imagine turning it off except for practicing in parking lots. I'm a decent driver but this is my first rear-drive car. Even if I did take driving school, I'd probably still leave it on. The car cost too much money for me to crash it b/c I thought I didn't need DSC.

JT - '02 330i
09-13-2002, 10:01 AM
DSC is a save your ass feature. On the street due to all the variables that I cant control, it stays on as a "safety net."

On the track or Autocross, it's totally worthless. You MUST drive with it off if you intend to get anywhere near good lap times. DSC prevents nearly all wheel slip, as it reduces power or adds brakes as needed, not what is needed for the fastest lap times.

Want to learn what your car is really capible of (you'll be amazed) Go do an autocross.

More info here: http://www.scca.org/amateur/solo2/

The HACK
09-13-2002, 10:05 AM
I am subscribing to the Stuka school of driving...NO DSC. I turn it off as soon as I start the car.

Then again, in So Cal it NEVER rains so DSC hardly EVER kicks in. I also find DSC way too intrusive when you just want to have a little fun. It cuts power prematurely on a quick launch.

Kaz
09-13-2002, 10:25 AM
DSC can get pretty intrusive when it wants to. Try doing some WOT acceleration with it on, and every time you slam into the next gear, the engine just sits there for a sec and you wonder if you broke something.