PDA

View Full Version : Power to headunit, but no sound.


Dok Faust
01-05-2006, 02:46 PM
Ok, I got this car and it had some sony peice of crap in it. I bought a alpine and hooked it up, and it ran until I put it into the space, where an exposed powerwire fried it and blew the fuse. So I got a old panasonic now and tried installing it, it gets power and runs through a cd and goes onto the radio stations, but theres no sound coming out. I thought it might have been the player because its used, but I hooked up another one that I know works, and still no sound. Also when I hooked another speaker up outside the car, it worked, but nothing inside does, what is going on?

el_duderino
01-05-2006, 03:38 PM
Two things:

1) You are not turning on the BMW amp. There is a turn on wire that needs to be energized by the Remote Turn On output of the radio.

2) You have a crappy install...

Dok Faust
01-05-2006, 07:50 PM
wheres the factory amp? because I have an aftermarket one in my trunk...

el_duderino
01-05-2006, 09:32 PM
OK, I'm out.

Go pay a pro shop to fix your install.

blueE36
01-10-2006, 12:56 PM
check that your wiring harness has the correct number of pins, when i installed my alipne i had the same issue till i found the extra power wire on the harness for the factory amp, had to splice it with the other power then everythin worked fine