PDA

View Full Version : iPod options with advantages/disadvantages

KevinH
01-18-2006, 07:19 PM
I'm new to both BMW's and iPods so I wanted to summarize what I've read on these forums and see if I've got it right.

It looks like I've got three options for installing an iPod in my 05' 325i, dealer-installed (iPodMyBMW), Icelink, and 3.5mm jack. Did I miss any?

iPodMyBMW: Advantages are that you can control the iPod from the steering wheel and it's fully supported by BMW. Disadvantages are that it only works with a standard iPod and not a Nano or other model.

Icelink: Advantages are that it works with any iPod and is controllable from the steering wheel. Disadvantage is that it's an independent installation and I've heard people sometimes have trouble with compatibility.

3.5mm jack: Advantages are that it works with any device. Disadvantages are poorer sound quality, independent, unsupported install, and no steering wheel control.

Did I get it right?

TKrotchko
01-18-2006, 07:31 PM
There's also the Blitzsafe adapter
(http://www.logjamelectronics.com/ipodbmw.html)

The USA SPEC adapter
(http://www.crutchfield.com/S-ZNhMQpUBTbr/cgi-bin/ProdView.asp?g=227450&I=581PA10BMW&search=ipod)

The P.I.E adapter
(http://www.logjamelectronics.com/piebmwpcalp.html)

There might be one other one, but what I found for all of them is that they all have certain limitations that may or may not be important to you.

For example, I have a factory Sirius, and I want to show the songs/artists on the display, plus I want to control it from my steering wheel, and not be limited to just certain playlists. The choice is really simple... You get the Dension Icelink. But if you just have the stock sound system with no add-ons, and you don't care about displays or controls, then your options are more open

el_duderino
01-18-2006, 11:32 PM
I don't understand your Icelink disadvantages. Don't ALL these require installation?