PDA

View Full Version : steptronic vs. SMG?

rwfisher
01-24-2006, 08:06 PM
Apparently the new M roadster won't offer SMG, only 6-speed manual or Steptronic with paddles. Can anyone elaborate on the difference between the Steptronic transmission and SMG? Is driving a steptronic (shifting manually) vastly different than driving a SMG?

Ågent99
01-25-2006, 07:12 AM
I am not very experienced with the steptronic but I have driven one. I also owned a 545i/SMG for about 10 months before selling it (see sig).

They are world's apart. Do a search...lottsa talk in the 5-series forum on SMG. Just know that the SMG is a real manual transmission...the car simply operates the clutch for you. The Step is a true automatic and thus you have a delay in shifting from when you toggle and when the tranny shifts.

The delay in the SMG is significantly less.

I think the SMG is more suited to folks who wish their manual could be put in automatic mode every once in a while or during the daily hellish commute but still want a decent manual for fun.

I think those who like their automatic may find the SMG ill-suited to their tastes if they leave the SMG in auto mode a lot. It just shifts much differently than an automatic.

Finally, SMG has a decent learning curve to it. It takes time to learn it and get it working for smooth shifts. I came from a manual and actually hated the SMG and regretted getting it for the first few hours in the car. A couple days...even weeks later, I really learned how to use the SMG and fell in love with it.

I can almost guarantee that you will hate the SMG if you take it out for a 10 minute spin and the dealer...if he comes with you...doesn't know much about it to assist you with it.

KrisL
01-25-2006, 07:41 AM
What Agent99 said.

If "1" on a 1-10 scale is a manual tranny and "10" is an automatic tranny, then the SMG is no more than a 2 or 3. They are absolutely vastly different.

ilkhan4
01-25-2006, 07:53 AM