PDA

View Full Version : can i afford a BMW?

yafayu
01-25-2006, 07:21 PM
Hi, i'm a college student with my daily drive 87 RWD corolla and my dad thinks that my corolla is danger on the street because it's light and rusted...so he offer me $10000 CAD to buy a better car.

since i really like BMW's(can't tell you how much i love BMW's:thumbup: )i'm thinking any E36 3 series with 6 cylinder, manual tranny, doesn't matter sedan/coupe...but problem comes...people say europe cars tend to have more expensive maintenance than japanese cars so i want to know i'm a college and yes i have a part time job and live by myself..can i afford a e36 3xx?

how much more is bmw maintenance compare to japanese cars? are they really expensive or still affordable? what should i check on these used bmw's? any good/bad about E36?

thank you for help!!

AzNMpower32
01-25-2006, 08:04 PM
I've heard the e36 had a bunch of reliability issues, moreso than the e46. Purists argue the e36 was the best driving 3 series, but the e46 isnt bad and I think you can get a reasonable price on a e46 3-series. Make sure the title is clean, and have a mechanic inspect any used BMW. Parts (and labor) are very expensive compared to a jap car. If nothing breaks or nothing serious happens, you may get along fine. The $$$$$ comes when someone major breaks and BMW parts are very expensive along with the labor. Coming from a japanese car, it might seem expensive. However, compared to other german brands, its not out of the ordinary.

Just an example: An oil change at the dealer is around $80. 4-wheel rotation and balancing on our X3 cost $48.

Fast Bob
01-25-2006, 08:17 PM