PDA

View Full Version : Zaino newbie...need advise.

nhhiep
06-27-2006, 07:55 PM
First of all, I need to say that I am completely new to detailing and my e90 is only 4 months old. I have been using NTX for a few months, only apply 1 layer once/month, so far, kinda happy with the result, But the problem is that I am sick of waxing monthly, So I just got Zaino z2-pro on my way, only because I needed z9,10. I basically want something that last long, I don't care much about the look, protection is all I am after for.

Now, my question is if I Dawn my car to remove NTX, then apply 1 layer of z2-Pro, then after that, I will do 1 layer every 2-3 months? I normally don't use Dawn to wash my car, use car wash product. Is this enough for protection?

honestly, I don't like waxing much, rather driving, I won't have time to do multiple layers. and I am trying to stay away from claying, I am new, so I just don't want to mess up. I heard that if I clay not correctly, I can scatch the paint.

thanks for your advice

thebigbr
06-27-2006, 10:52 PM
in the same situation....:eeps:

Rsavory
06-28-2006, 03:32 AM
I don't know anything about Zaino. I use Meguiars products. But I do know that claying your car is easy and will not damage your paint if you use the mild stuff such as Mothers or Clay Magic. The clay will remove a lot of dirt that car wash and polish doesn't touch. Get a kit and try it out to see if you like it.

BTW, I use Meguiar NXT Tech Wax in paste form and have found that it lasts at least 4 months. Is this the same stuff that you were applying monthly?

Joe Schmoe
06-28-2006, 03:51 AM
Dawn and clay first, then apply Z2 with Z1 or ZFX. I would apply two or three layers during your first application.

After that, you should only need to apply Z2 every 2-3 months. Zaino is one of the most durable waxes out there, I have gone four months between applications and it hardly seemed to wear off at all during that time.

graphicguy
07-13-2006, 09:16 AM