PDA

View Full Version : Black trim treatment

Dr. Phil
01-23-2002, 06:12 AM
Sorry if answered before............:dunno:

I was wondering what you use to treat the black trim pieces on the bumpers, side guard, aroung mirrors, etc. ?

I have One Grand treatment and Vinylex, but thought Vinylex would wear to easily. Historically (preBMW days:cry: ) I would just wash with rest of car and not treat. But after purchase and insight from Rip, Al, and all you other expert car care owners I have seen the light and now have a better understanding of proper care:thumb: . For that I thank you:D , but my wife does not (she doesn't quite get it yet:confused: ).

TIA for any advice.

Guest84
01-23-2002, 06:18 AM
I don't have much (if any) black trim since its a coupe. Our SUV I use Griots Vinyl dressing, but it doesn't hold up very long, 2 weeks max. I'd also be interested in any answers out there...

Thks for the compliment, but I am by no means an expert! I just assemble the best advice from others given to me from various sources, try that advice out, and if it works, I post about it!

Of course, all my other vehicles were white, so car finish products were never ranked very high in priority with me until I got a black car! :D

Dr. Phil
01-23-2002, 07:05 AM
Originally posted by Ripsnort
Of course, all my other vehicles were white, so car finish products were never ranked very high in priority with me until I got a black car! :D
Coming from a white Honda I know exactly what you mean. But I wasn't brave enough to go dark with the xiT. The Grey Green so far:tsk: has been fairly easy to keep clean.

sjs
01-23-2002, 08:40 PM
If you can find it turtle wax "black chrome" try kmart

Chipster
01-25-2002, 04:28 PM
Originally posted by Ripsnort
...Of course, all my other vehicles were white, so car finish products were never ranked very high in priority with me until I got a black car! :D