PDA

View Full Version : Imola Red Paint - Best care method?

Pinball81
12-11-2006, 12:32 PM
Purchased a '98 Imola Red M Roadster late last summer and have yet to truly detail the paint. The previous owner did a pretty good job, but the paint is almost 10 yrs old and could surely use a little more TLC.

I have read before that Red BMW paint does not have a clearcoat layer. Is this true?

What is the recommended paint cleansing/maintenance process for '98 Imola Red? If there truly is no clearcoat, I don't want to damage the paint. My plan is as follows:

1. Wash/dry with Dawn
2. Clay bar
3. Paint cleanser applied with random orbital buffer
4. Polish, also applied with ROB
5. Wax

Is this the procedure you guys would recommend? Please correct any misteps in this procedure and suggest your favorite products (so I can add them to my Christmas list). I am a detailing newbie and welcome any and all tips!

Thanks in advance!

jetstream23
12-11-2006, 02:11 PM
Purchased a '98 Imola Red M Roadster late last summer and have yet to truly detail the paint. The previous owner did a pretty good job, but the paint is almost 10 yrs old and could surely use a little more TLC.

I have read before that Red BMW paint does not have a clearcoat layer. Is this true?

What is the recommended paint cleansing/maintenance process for '98 Imola Red? If there truly is no clearcoat, I don't want to damage the paint. My plan is as follows:

1. Wash/dry with Dawn
2. Clay bar
5. Wax

Is this the procedure you guys would recommend? Please correct any misteps in this procedure and suggest your favorite products (so I can add them to my Christmas list). I am a detailing newbie and welcome any and all tips!

Thanks in advance!