PDA

View Full Version : Anyone installed a Garmin SP3???


puterdoc
12-30-2002, 10:17 AM
I've got the SP3 and would like to install it in my 325. Has anyone done an install? Got pics?

I've been using it on the dash (bean bag mount) for the last month or so and thought it would be good to give it a more permanant mount. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Lansing
12-30-2002, 11:46 AM
I have the same question. How do you like the SP3?

Mine is now officially on order, and after some pretty favorable reviews from JPinTO, Pinecone and others, I decided to whip out the checkbook.

How does yours work, even with the beanbag mount? I have two cars, so the beanbag / swivel mount might be the way for me, although it sure would be nice if there was a more permanent mount like a gooseneck or something like what Hertz does with their Neverlost.

Lansing

Nat Brown
12-30-2002, 02:19 PM
Originally posted by Lansing
...it sure would be nice if there was a more permanent mount like a gooseneck or something like what Hertz does with their Neverlost.


You could buy a Pro-Fit VSM mount from Pro Fit International (http://www.pro-fit-intl.com/mount.htm) and install your GPS on that.

--gary

joema
12-30-2002, 02:33 PM
I have a monochrome StreetPilot. I mounted it on top of the steering column of my 330i using a black velcro strip. The mating velcro adhesive strip on top of the steering column is almost invisible. It's a very discreet location, and the amber illumination roughly matches the BMW instrument illumination color.

It covers up the bottom 1/4 of the speedo and tach (no problem really). It also covers up the OBD display, although if I crane my neck forward I can see it.

I like my seat cranked up pretty high, so that gives me better instrument visibility over the top of the SP. If you like your seat lower, visibility might be more problematic.

Because the monochrome StreetPilot runs a whole day on batteries, I don't need the external power adapter -- that makes it very convenient. When stopping I just pull it off the steering column and put it in the glove box or trunk.

However the dimensions of the SP3 may be sufficiently different from the monochrome SP it might not fit as well.

Overall I really like the monochrome SP, but the processor is pretty slow. That makes panning and zooming quite slow. I've heard the SP3 is much faster.

-- Joe

Pinecone
12-30-2002, 05:37 PM
I just stuck the adhesive mount in the center of the dash. That way my passenger can mess with it while I drive, but it is still very easy for me to see.

I did this in both the M3 and M Roadster.

I am busy right now trying to get my Xmas present done, but will try to get some pics on New Years Day.

puterdoc
12-31-2002, 06:10 AM
Thanks for the replies.

The beanbag works pretty well. The no skid bottom keeps it from sliding around. Like I noted, I'd like to do a more permanent mount. Any suggestions for the wiring? I purchased one of the RAM mounts for it, but could not find a good place to mount it so I'm still using the beanbag.

The SP3 has not missed a turn since I started using it. It's great. I would recommend it to anyone who did not get a nav unit. The deluxe version comes with a 128 MB storage card. I've load the majority of the southeast U.S. (FL, GA, SC, NC) on it with no problem.

:D

Pinecone
12-31-2002, 02:31 PM
Originally posted by puterdoc
Thanks for the replies.

The beanbag works pretty well. The no skid bottom keeps it from sliding around. Like I noted, I'd like to do a more permanent mount. Any suggestions for the wiring? I purchased one of the RAM mounts for it, but could not find a good place to mount it so I'm still using the beanbag.

The SP3 has not missed a turn since I started using it. It's great. I would recommend it to anyone who did not get a nav unit. The deluxe version comes with a 128 MB storage card. I've load the majority of the southeast U.S. (FL, GA, SC, NC) on it with no problem.

:D


There are companies that sell the power cord. Garmin does, but there are cheaper sources. I found mine on eBay. I plan on wiring it through the sunglass holder so I can tuck it away when it is not being used.

EdCT
01-01-2003, 04:54 PM
Originally posted by Lansing
I have the same question. How do you like the SP3?

Mine is now officially on order, and after some pretty favorable reviews from JPinTO, Pinecone and others, I decided to whip out the checkbook.

How does yours work, even with the beanbag mount? I have two cars, so the beanbag / swivel mount might be the way for me, although it sure would be nice if there was a more permanent mount like a gooseneck or something like what Hertz does with their Neverlost.

Lansing

Lansing,

My father-in-law has one for his Acura, he has a terrible sense of direction and the SP works wonders for him.

He had it mounted via bean bag for some time, but we recently secured the included sticky mount on the RL's dash.

Since my dad-in-law is somewhat deficient with technology, I often load the maps from the cd rom onto the 128 meg memory stick (sticks are expensive, 128 megs costs 250 bucks; a 32 meg is $90 and an 8 meg $60). I find the operation of this a bit inconvenient, but it does bring the cost down.

My biggest complaint with the Street Pilot 3 is its operating system. Though robust, it's riddled with too many menus scattered over too many places. Often, the "save" operation is on a completely different page from the task at hand, i.e., saving a route. So, you'll need to become really familiar with its OS and you'll need to get pretty good with typing via a rotary cursor (hint: WAYPOINTS!!!).

Still, it works great and he loves it.

Ed

Lansing
01-08-2003, 07:33 PM
Originally posted by Pinecone
There are companies that sell the power cord. Garmin does, but there are cheaper sources. I found mine on eBay. I plan on wiring it through the sunglass holder so I can tuck it away when it is not being used.

Just got it today and crammed 110MB of data on it. So far it is terrific. The UI is pretty good, and it is pretty accurate. Initially, it took a bit for it to locate satellites, but that's okay.

The graphics are decent and it seems to have functions to rotate views and zoom. Also, the turn by turn is pretty decent!

Right now, using the beanbag, but will likely use the dash mount down the road--as long as the non-permanent adhesive disks don't mess up my dash. I'll probably put both those mounts on my cars so I can swap back and forth. Also looking for a better way to power the thing and to have the speaker set up. Friend said that stereo installers can tap into the power source and run a variety of ways. Not sure how they'd do the speaker, though.

Any experiences on this? It's a great unit.

Lansing

31st330i
01-09-2003, 01:40 PM
here you go:
http://www.hosun.net/pix.html

google is your friend:
search for "+bmw +328i +garmin +dash" (http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=%2Bbmw+%2B328i+%2Bgarmin)

31st330i
01-09-2003, 01:43 PM
he also posted a review of it here:
http://www.hosun.net/gps.html


and some bird poop here:
http://www.hosun.net/birdcrud.html

LarryN
01-09-2003, 04:29 PM
...you may want to think about this device that Garmin just announced today at the Consumer Electronics show:

http://www.garmin.com/products/iQue3600/

It does most (if not everything) the Streetpilot 3 does, incl color display and in car navigation, in a much smaller form factor. Plus, it's a full feature PDA. I'm considering getting this to replace my Sony Clie' NX70.

Just an FYI.

LarryN
01-09-2003, 04:32 PM
... oh and it's suggested retail price is only $589

http://www.garmin.com/products/iQue3600/graphics/iQue3600Big.jpg

...and no, I have no relations to Garmin. I just thought it was a cool alternative to the Streetpilot.

Pinecone
01-10-2003, 02:35 AM
Originally posted by LarryN
...you may want to think about this device that Garmin just announced today at the Consumer Electronics show:

http://www.garmin.com/products/iQue3600/

It does most (if not everything) the Streetpilot 3 does, incl color display and in car navigation, in a much smaller form factor. Plus, it's a full feature PDA. I'm considering getting this to replace my Sony Clie' NX70.

Just an FYI.

I want a bigger one, so the screen can be bigger.

As for memory sticks, hit eBay. You can pick them up for around $200, sometimes less. I only buy 128s.

SilverBmw
01-13-2003, 07:53 PM
Here are the pics of my install. I tapped the flashlight recharger for the power and wired the sound to the speaker under the steering column. When I dont use it I put it in the glove box so it is out of sight.

-SilverBmw
http://www.bimmerfest.com/members/SilverBmw/car1.jpg
http://www.bimmerfest.com/members/SilverBmw/car2.jpg
http://www.bimmerfest.com/members/SilverBmw/car3.jpg
http://www.bimmerfest.com/members/SilverBmw/car4.jpg

http://www.bimmerfest.com/members/SilverBmw/car6.jpg
http://www.bimmerfest.com/members/SilverBmw/car7.jpg

Lansing
01-13-2003, 11:10 PM
I like the idea of finding an alternate speaker. Although the cig lighter one works fine, it is a little obtrusive. Didn't know there's a speaker under the steering column. Is that a stocker or something you added on?

If you have it going on like that, ever consider running through the vent to the cig lighter or something?

Good stuff,
Lansing

SilverBmw
01-14-2003, 01:45 AM
Originally posted by Lansing
I like the idea of finding an alternate speaker. Although the cig lighter one works fine, it is a little obtrusive. Didn't know there's a speaker under the steering column. Is that a stocker or something you added on?

If you have it going on like that, ever consider running through the vent to the cig lighter or something?

Good stuff,
Lansing

The speaker under the steering column is stock. The wires for the speaker can be tapped under the cup holders (pic 1). Having the wire come out of the glove box actually does not look that bad. The part to tap the power at the flashlight charger is a bmw part and most dealers carry them.

-SilverBmw

Pinecone
01-14-2003, 10:54 AM
What I am looking at doing for a more permanent setup is to install two speakers in the rear seat ashtray. I don't allow smoking in my car, so I won't miss it.

Radio Shack as a 2 inch speaker in a little enclosure. Take the back off the the speaker with grill fits nicely in the ashtray. To fit two (the second will be for ham radio) you have to cut/grind out part of the cigarette holder/snuffer.

I plan on bring power (and speaker connection) out of the cubby below the heat/ac controls.

For those interested the ham radio (Yaesu FT9100) head unit will mount in the front ashtray with the mic connection. SO unplu th emic and close the ashtray and it is gone.

puterdoc
01-21-2003, 09:17 AM
Originally posted by Nat Brown
You could buy a Pro-Fit VSM mount from Pro Fit International (http://www.pro-fit-intl.com/mount.htm) and install your GPS on that.

--gary

I'm still looking into mounting ideas for the SPIII. I looked at what was offered on the Pro-Fit site, but hey have nothing for the 2002 E46. Maybe a mount can be hand made?

I also like the idea of mounting on the dash but from what I've read, the "stick on" mounts may not hold.

THanks for all the ideas, I'll keep checking back for any new suggestions or ideas.

:thumbup:

JPinTO
01-21-2003, 09:35 AM
Originally posted by puterdoc
I'm still looking into mounting ideas for the SPIII. I looked at what was offered on the Pro-Fit site, but hey have nothing for the 2002 E46. Maybe a mount can be hand made?

I also like the idea of mounting on the dash but from what I've read, the "stick on" mounts may not hold.

THanks for all the ideas, I'll keep checking back for any new suggestions or ideas.

:thumbup:

The temporary stick on mount should hold. It's pretty strong. If it doesn't (which it should) then the permanent one will hold for sure.

Nat Brown
01-21-2003, 10:31 AM
Originally posted by puterdoc
I'm still looking into mounting ideas for the SPIII. I looked at what was offered on the Pro-Fit site, but hey have nothing for the 2002 E46. Maybe a mount can be hand made?

I also like the idea of mounting on the dash but from what I've read, the "stick on" mounts may not hold.

THanks for all the ideas, I'll keep checking back for any new suggestions or ideas.

:thumbup:

I've got a 2002 E46 with the Profit VSM mount. It's model BM-50-99. It takes about 5 minutes to install.

--gary

puterdoc
01-21-2003, 12:37 PM
Originally posted by Nat Brown
I've got a 2002 E46 with the Profit VSM mount. It's model BM-50-99. It takes about 5 minutes to install.

--gary

I checked their web site and did not find mention of the 2002 E46 before I posted a responce. I also emailed them and they said they did not have a mount for my vehicle. As you noted, it looked like the BM-50-99 should work. I just have not had a chance to take off the trim to verify the location of the bolt that Pro-Fit shows in their instructions.

Did you mount the SPIII on this mount? Any additional hardware needed? Where did the wiring go?

Nat Brown
01-21-2003, 12:59 PM
Originally posted by puterdoc
I checked their web site and did not find mention of the 2002 E46 before I posted a responce. I also emailed them and they said they did not have a mount for my vehicle. As you noted, it looked like the BM-50-99 should work. I just have not had a chance to take off the trim to verify the location of the bolt that Pro-Fit shows in their instructions.

Did you mount the SPIII on this mount? Any additional hardware needed? Where did the wiring go?

I have a Ericsson cell phone kit mounted there. I have a friend who has mounted his GPS on one, but not in a bimmer.

--gary

http://www.bariaur.com/e39/images/t39.jpg

avinashd
02-09-2005, 03:17 PM
Hi:

I use my Garmin iQue 3600 with the Garmin Bean mount. It also has a speaker with the charger.
It works gr8 and allows me to use the unit in both the B's (Bimmer & Benz).

Never had any problems with the mount.

Avi