PDA

View Full Version : HD Radio

archrenov8
01-30-2008, 08:42 PM
I am trying to decide if it is worthwhile to order an HD radio in my X3. It is not that expensive, but I am not sure if there are any down-sides to getting it over the base setup. In the New York area, what improvements might I expect in terms of sound quality or listening choices, if any?

Sonoman707
01-30-2008, 09:29 PM
Note: Evlengr's X3 transmission has almost got him and his family killed - several times.

Carry on with HD radio discusssion...

kjboyd
01-30-2008, 09:32 PM
god some people are just total Aholes.

While it's nice to have the HD integrated, you can find it much cheaper elsewhere.. it's an overpriced option in my opinion.

Evlengr
01-30-2008, 10:03 PM
I will ignore Sonoman 707's infantile comments. If you have something constructive to add please do, otherwise crawl back in the hole whence you came.

As an RF Engineer I can tell you its a nice novelty nothing more.

The reception is very poor, the sound quality is not improved due to a process known as "Blending".

They have to reduce the processing to mimic that of the analog signal, and most Program Directors in radio don't see it as a positive addition but only more work and therefore do not offer any real program content.

Also ibiquity the fore runner of this technology's design releases there binding agreement preventing radio stations from running ads in July so it wont be commercial free much longer.

It typically costs a radio station $150k to set up HD and they need to recoup their losses.

Andrew*Debbie
01-31-2008, 03:18 AM
You can see a list of stations at hdradio.com

From the listing, you can see that a lot of what EE says is true. For example, AM 820 News/Talk is repeated on 93.9-3. But there could be something you want to listen to. :dunno:

archrenov8
01-31-2008, 05:31 AM