PDA

View Full Version : hard start

schnell320i
03-30-2008, 07:05 PM
hey all, I have a 80 320i with a hard hot start issue. After the car is run 15 min or so under load and you shut it off and let it sit for 1/2 hour it just cranks and cranks for a while and then finally fires and runs rough then its okay. I checked for leakdown on the cold start valve and that seemed okay. any ideas?????? thanks

fireman steve
04-01-2008, 10:11 AM
I am new to these cars, but I would crawl under the rear end (passenger side) and check all of the fittings in the Fuel pump/filter/check valve cluster. A small leak there could make for a problem like you describe. Also, check the lines that lead into the injector pump (facing your radiator at the front of the motor) for any signs of seepage there. Good luck, let us know what you find out.

schnell320i
04-07-2008, 11:07 AM
thanks for the info fireman Steve, I checked all the conections at the fuel pump; all is well. I looked over the mechanical fuel injection no leaks.

I thought of checking the frequency valve ( fuel pressure regulator) but do not know of any methods of doing so.

Jonathan Payne
04-29-2008, 02:33 PM
There is a relay sitting alongside the fuse box under the hood whose job it is to recharge the fuel pressure after shut off. Sounds like that isn't working. J Payne

fireman steve
05-02-2008, 05:28 PM
*ugh* now mine has this problem too! Frick! :tsk:

fireman steve
05-02-2008, 11:59 PM
I checked on the fuel pump relay, and that isn't the issue. I can hear the pumps running for a moment after I turn the key off. I am going to kill the starter motor if I can't figure this out. :( I will tear into it on Sunday if I get a moment and see if there is an air leak in the fuel injection system. It seems to be starving for fuel. After 30-45 seconds of cranking, it will barely come to life and then run rough for a few moments. Then it is a great runner. What the heck??? :dunno:

fireman steve
05-06-2008, 05:28 PM