PDA

View Full Version : Whining/Squealing Noise

BDurham
07-08-2008, 02:05 AM
Ok I am a complete newb when it comes to cars and being able to find and fix problems so bare with me please. I have a 97 M3 Sedan 120,xxx miles. About 6 months ago I began hearing a type of whining or squealing noise that came from the front of my motor when I would take off in first gear in low rpm. It would usually start after the car had been warmed up and maybe driven for 5 minutes or more. I took it to a shop and they immediately diagnosed it as my timing chain. I payed nearly 1,100 to have it and the censors replaced. The noise was not fixed, long story short my car was back in that shop 4 or 5 more times and they replaced my cams, vanos, among other things. The last time they finally got it, they believed it was the cam but they really weren't sure what they replaced that fixed it because they had the engine apart so many times:dunno:. Well I left satisfied that I got all these parts for only the original 1,100 that I paid. It cost them a lot of time and labor but also me a lot of time without a car. Anywho, it's 6th months later and the noise is back. Like i said it comes on usually when taking off from a stop and then also coming to a stop and downshifting. It's really a hard noise to describe but I can best describe it as a high-pitched whine. Please any help would be appreciated, I'm lost and annoyed:dunno::mad:

Bruce
07-08-2008, 06:16 AM
Sounds like a serpentine belt tensioner to me.

fizzle
07-08-2008, 07:29 AM
yep, the belt, sounds like

BDurham
07-08-2008, 02:19 PM
Thanks for the input guys. Is this something that can be taken out and easily repaired? Or will it be something that needs to be taken out and replaced? Will it be as big of an expense as the timing chain was for me 6 months ago? Any help on what could be done would be appreciated.

Bruce
07-08-2008, 04:55 PM