PDA

View Full Version : From MINIs to M3

slickfast
07-27-2008, 07:14 PM
Hey guys,

Just thought I'd drop a line to see what you think about this. I've been saving up for an 05 mini cooper s for a while now (2 years) and until recently have only been on the mini forums (NAM). I'm definitely a driver and I'm looking for as much car as 15-17 grand can get me (I'm a college kid).

Anyway, I was walking to work last week and saw a PRISTINE looking plum-colored e36 m3 coupe (manual, the only way i would want one). It had a for-sale sign on it with a phone number and these teasers: 1999, 52k miles, no mechanical problems, 100% stock. I want. I had ventured into getting an e36 m3 earlier but found the only manual versions had upwards of 80k miles on them, not something I'm inclined to get when spending 15 grand. but 52k, now thats more like it...

So for the last couple days I've been doing my reading about the car. KBB.com says $14860 for that very car in excellent condition. From what I've read, the big problems are that the water pump tends to go bad (at least on 95-97 until they had metal impellers), and the cooling system has to be like redone or something? Since I have only been looking really closely at these cars for a couple days, can you guys tell me how reliable yours have been? Moreso, are the parts as expensive as I would expect them to be? This is definitely something scary for me. Also, i'm going to school up in new hampshire so i was wondering if you guys put snows on steelie rims on your cars, and how big the steelies had to be to clear the brake rotors.

im SO excited about the possibility of an m3, i'm jumping out of my skin. I think I can be sure theyll handle as well as a mini cooper s, and theyve got a little more speed to play with. I've always loved them but never thought I would ever be able to get one! Thanks guys!

Bruce
07-27-2008, 07:25 PM