PDA

View Full Version : More Power!!!


wazzumatt21
10-19-2008, 09:31 PM
How should i add HP to my 1982 320i? I have installed a new air intake. Should i go with a new camshaft or exhaust?

PBC///2.7
10-29-2008, 01:10 AM
well!!an exhaust will help it alot sence you have an intake,as for the cam I would go will a very mild one on less you do motor work.....don't forget to do some brake & suspension plus a tire up-grade too...I hope this helps you out..........

88e30vert
12-11-2008, 03:27 PM
wazzumatt, do you go to WSU? and if yes in spokane or pullman

DanielW
02-07-2009, 09:11 PM
You might get a salvage yard 318 head from 80--8x and put it on 1979 320i.

I did this years ago, so have forgotten the details. New head gasket and I resurfaced the valve seats on the 318 salvage yard head. Also you must retain the dist. drive housing from the 320i head and use it on the 318i head

I had to do a very light clearance scraping on the head around where the top of the pistons would have nearly touched the head. The bore on 318s was slightly smaller or this may have been because I used an aftermaket head gasket. You should use a 320i head gasket or the pistons might hit the gasket ?

The volume of the 318 head was slightly smaller (higher compression).
I used the cam from the 318i head.

I think I bought the entire used head for $75 USD.

The day I sold the car (after 1 owner - 23 years, and 318K miles) the car would still go about 105-110 mph. The buyer was really surprised that such an old car would still "get it"
Oh, I almost forgot --- I had transplanted in a later 3 series 5 speed overdrive trans. when my 4 speed gearbox locked up.

There are really not many things you can do without major dollars and complexity.
Luck to you --- just drive it and drive it some more.

DanielW
PS I am now enjoying my 2007 328i (my 5th BMW). The 3 series cars really are nice and much quieter now!

Mr.///Matt
06-29-2009, 02:12 PM
will a m20 motor fit in a 320... my friend is looking forward to do this...kind of like the 2002's

PBC///2.7
06-30-2009, 04:53 AM
yes it will,just a bit of work and some wiring too.....s14 is your friend....