PDA

View Full Version : Which Oil to Use?

MJA_
12-05-2008, 11:51 PM
I am new to BMW's but have owned various cars with high performance engines. I have always used a good quality real oil and that seemed to work OK. The previous owner of my car used a high performance oil from Lucas that he had to buy on line and have shipped. Do any of you have any "musts" when it comes to engine oil for your BMW? Are additives of any benifit? Does synthetic make any difference in a car that was designed for real oil?
I have been a fan of Castrol GTX and can't see paying double for an oil like Lucas.

Tourburgring
12-06-2008, 12:41 PM
As my Father-in-Law used to say about Beer, There is no bad oil, its just that some may be better than others, depending upon a number of factors. Type of use (street, track, both), how often you change it, type of driving (mostly highway or many short trips). If you change your oil regularly (eg. every 3000 miles) then any good quality "dino" oil like Castrol GTX is just fine. If you want to take advantage of longer oil changes or are planning any track work then a good quality Synthetic Oil is the way to go. This would also help you if you do a lot of stop/go driving or short trips as synthetic additives will hold contaminants in suspension better than dino oils. Mobil-1 is probably the best of the easily available synthetics and Wally Mart usually has the best prices. Use a 10W-30 grade.

For more oil information than you ever wanted to know, go to: http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/

bimmer dot info
12-08-2008, 07:33 AM
If it was run on dino I'd stick with it. Synthetics can cause weak seals to start leaking.
If you change every 3k miles you will be just fine with any quality dino oil.
There are recomendations for the weight in your owners manual. They are based on the temps you expect the car to see.

Tourburgring
12-10-2008, 04:46 PM