PDA

View Full Version : This Page Cannot Be Displayed


The Roadstergal
07-13-2003, 12:11 PM
In the past two days, when I click Submit on a Reply or a Quick Reply, I get the infamous This Page Cannot Be Displayed page. But the post still posts. Odd...

Oh, and can we have the ability to change our avatars? :angel:

Kaz
07-13-2003, 12:20 PM
Hmm, I haven't had that problem.

And what's wrong with 'Alice'?

Alex Baumann
07-13-2003, 12:44 PM
Same here.

It's not happening all the time, but it's there.

EDIT : No, I lied, it's happing all the time :eek:

·clyde·
07-13-2003, 01:20 PM
Same here.

It's not happening all the time, but it's there.

EDIT : No, I lied, it's happing all the time :eek:
32.673% of the time here...

Dan Martin
07-13-2003, 01:35 PM
32.673% of the time here...

|
|
|
V

Dan Martin
07-13-2003, 01:37 PM
That's funny, it just happened to me when I replied to this thread!

The Roadstergal
07-13-2003, 01:57 PM
It's happening for me, every single thread, started or replied.

wmndriver
07-13-2003, 04:02 PM
It's happening for me, every single thread, started or replied.

Maybe that is the price you have to pay for having your very own troll! The best things in life aren't free :)

ronrich
07-13-2003, 06:20 PM
Every bloody time..... :mad: :mad: :mad:

rost12
07-13-2003, 06:52 PM
Not

rost12
07-13-2003, 06:53 PM
ONCE! :p

·clyde·
07-13-2003, 06:59 PM
Not
Safari is not invulnerable to this :(

Kaz
07-13-2003, 06:59 PM
Is everyone having problems using IE?

The only problem I've had the last day or two is the Your Reply box loading a bit slowly. Otherwise it's been 100%.

Mozilla 1.4 w2k on my fast machines
Firebird 0.6 w2k on my slow ones.

·clyde·
07-13-2003, 07:01 PM
Is everyone having problems using IE?

The only problem I've had the last day or two is the Your Reply box loading a bit slowly. Otherwise it's been 100%.

Mozilla 1.4 w2k on my fast machines
Firebird 0.6 w2k on my slow ones.
safari 1.0 and mozilla 1.4 on Mac OSX

rost12
07-13-2003, 07:03 PM
Safari is not invulnerable to this :(

Provider issue? I'm still not getting anything :( I feel left out now.

Anyone has this problem RIGHT now?

·clyde·
07-13-2003, 07:18 PM
Provider issue? I'm still not getting anything :( I feel left out now.

Anyone has this problem RIGHT now?
a few times so far tonight

vexed
07-13-2003, 07:29 PM
Just happened to me but the reply posted.:confused: IE 6.0 and XP using cable access.:(

Pete Teoh
07-13-2003, 09:33 PM
test

Pete Teoh
07-13-2003, 09:33 PM
no problemo.

Pete Teoh
07-13-2003, 09:34 PM
Ie6.0 Xp

The Roadstergal
07-13-2003, 10:46 PM
Ie6.0 Xp
Same setup, but I am getting it. :dunno:

The Roadstergal
07-13-2003, 10:47 PM
Maybe that is the price you have to pay for having your very own troll! The best things in life aren't free :)

It's a hard choice, but I think I could deal with giving it up for normal posting...

The Roadstergal
07-13-2003, 11:47 PM
It happens with private messages, too, and when I click on the Change Avatar link in Options.

Alex Baumann
07-14-2003, 05:54 AM
It happens with private messages, too, and when I click on the Change Avatar link in Options.

and now it started to happen when I'm using search (either in forums or the general search on the top left). Hmmmm....

IE 6.0

SpaceMonkey
07-14-2003, 06:15 AM
and now it started to happen when I'm using search (either in forums or the general search on the top left). Hmmmm....

IE 6.0
It's been happening to me when I hit the "goto first unread post" icon for any thread. Roughly 30% of the time.
Safari 1.0

ronrich
07-14-2003, 07:26 AM
OK, I'm at work. It works ok with NT and IE 6 :dunno:

hockeynut
07-14-2003, 08:30 AM
I got it yesterday at home (WinXP, IE6) and today at work (Win2K, IE6).

Every time.

SpaceMonkey
07-14-2003, 08:59 AM
Oh, and when it does work when I reply, it brings me to the top of the thread, not to my post. :dunno:

Plaz
07-14-2003, 09:06 AM
Hasn't happened to me... yet?

·clyde·
07-14-2003, 09:08 AM
OK, I'm at work. It works ok with NT and IE 6 :dunno:
Happening (infrequenetly) here at work with W2k and IE6.

Kaz
07-14-2003, 09:53 AM
Sorry, still not happening.

w2k Moz1.4 here at work.

JetBlack330i
07-14-2003, 12:37 PM
and now it started to happen when I'm using search (either in forums or the general search on the top left). Hmmmm....

IE 6.0
I'm still not able to use the search fction since yesterday.

The Roadstergal
07-14-2003, 12:54 PM
It just stopped doing it!

Er, never mind. It didn't do it for one post, then went back.

JetBlack330i
07-14-2003, 01:37 PM
Still happening for me.
The post was accepted.

The Roadstergal
07-14-2003, 04:13 PM
That's not what I get. I get this:

GimpyMcFarlan
07-14-2003, 05:51 PM
It happened to me every time I replied except once tonight. I'm running IE6.0 w/ SP1. :dunno:

Kaz
07-14-2003, 05:54 PM
Almost 30hrs since the start of this thread and I still haven't had one instance of this.

GimpyMcFarlan
07-14-2003, 05:54 PM
Just happened again. I hit the refresh button after I got the message and received the follow error message...

JetBlack330i
07-14-2003, 05:56 PM
That's not what I get. I get this:
I got that one once as well.

The Roadstergal
07-14-2003, 06:20 PM
Just happened again. I hit the refresh button after I got the message and received the follow error message...

I never get that. Every time but that one time above where I posted, I get the standard IE error page.

johnlew
07-14-2003, 07:39 PM
I started getting it today on IE6 after I post a reply. Also, I'm sorry to say that, thus far, the upgrade is a net negative. Fonts too big on NT4, now this and site seemed awfully slow today. I'm keeping an open mind and being patient, but the upgraded software is getting old and stale quickly.

ed325i
07-14-2003, 09:53 PM
It's happening to me too. XP Pro, IE6

The Roadstergal
07-15-2003, 11:58 AM
It isn't doing it at all for me today. Out of the blue. :confused:

·clyde·
07-15-2003, 12:02 PM
It isn't doing it at all for me today. Out of the blue. :confused:
It was doing it for me earlier, but not for a while now. Also, the search seems to be working again.

Mr. The Edge
08-13-2003, 08:59 PM
I just installed some Windows updates and it's happening to me now :(

The Roadstergal
08-14-2003, 02:48 AM
I just installed some Windows updates and it's happening to me now :(
It stopped doing it for a good while.

Just today it started doing it again - not every time.

Edit - it's starting to do it every time.

SpaceMonkey
08-14-2003, 07:03 AM
It stopped doing it for a good while.

Just today it started doing it again - not every time.

Edit - it's starting to do it every time.
Ditto for me.

Mr. The Edge
08-14-2003, 07:04 AM
:cry:

Melissa
08-14-2003, 08:17 AM
I keep getting that, too! :mad:

Alex Baumann
08-14-2003, 08:26 AM
I used to have that, but not anymore :dunno:

johnlew
08-14-2003, 08:28 AM
I used to have that, but not anymore :dunno:

Didn't you switch to Mozilla?

Alex Baumann
08-14-2003, 08:54 AM
Didn't you switch to Mozilla?

Yes, I did.

But I've tried it with IE6.0, it's working too.

The Roadstergal
08-14-2003, 12:43 PM
If I move to Germany, will it stop doing it?

Mr. The Edge
08-14-2003, 12:45 PM
This problem also makes a Search impossible :banghead:

Alex Baumann
08-14-2003, 01:00 PM
If I move to Germany, will it stop doing it?

Yes :kiss:

The Roadstergal
08-14-2003, 01:40 PM
Yes :kiss:

:banana:



(And :( knowing that I'm about to hit that white page again...)

Mr. The Edge
08-14-2003, 01:41 PM
(And :( knowing that I'm about to hit that white page again...)

are you able to do a search?

Give it a try...

The Roadstergal
08-14-2003, 02:34 PM
The quick links - search this thread, search this forum - work. The main Search link gets me a white page when I Submit.

The Roadstergal
08-14-2003, 07:31 PM
Hmmm, did this happen at the same time the My Car display was added?

Mathew
08-14-2003, 07:39 PM
it's happening to me

tgravo2
08-15-2003, 06:28 PM
It was happening today too :(

LarryN
08-17-2003, 02:16 PM
Shoot, I can't even respond to a poll today without the message, nor can I file a new post, edit a post, delete a post, or respond without the message "Page cannot be displayed". If I refresh, I get a message about the thread does not exist.

*** Another problem. If you do a search by username, diplaying results in decremental order, the results come back in incremental order. However, if you page back, retype the username to search by, you get results in decremental order (the correct way) on the second identical search.

This appears to be one pretty sick vBulletin.

The Roadstergal
08-19-2003, 12:18 PM
It doesn't affect posting too much, bascially just an annoyance - but now even the simple search doesn't work for me, and when I tried to post from a different computer - I can't log in. Page Cannot Be Displayed, and I'm not logged in when I back up.

jw
08-19-2003, 03:05 PM
I'm still getting this double posting error - even though I'm only clicking once.

JetBlack330i
08-23-2003, 04:21 AM
It doesn't affect posting too much, bascially just an annoyance - but now even the simple search doesn't work for me, and when I tried to post from a different computer - I can't log in. Page Cannot Be Displayed, and I'm not logged in when I back up.
Same here. It's becoming more than an annoyance.
Search function doesn't work.
When posting, it doesn't take me back to the thread nor displays my post. Only a "page not found" error (but post was taken).
I was told the e46fanatics board uses the same level software and they don't have any of these problems. What gives? :mad:

Artslinger
08-26-2003, 06:53 PM
IMO, these problems seem to be related to the general slow/infected state the WWW has been in for the last couple of weeks. The pages are taking to long to load, and may not be fully loaded before the user clicks on a form button or link, which causes a page error.

tim330i
08-27-2003, 11:51 AM
Please help me figure this out!!

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39140

Tim