PDA

View Full Version : B-Fest San Diego Caravan (RANT)

ManicMechanic
05-03-2009, 10:27 PM
THIS IS GOING TO BE A LONG POST AND WILL PISS SOME PEOPLE OFF

First let me tell you a bit about myself. I'm 45 years old. I'm an experienced driver with extensive race-track experience. I often joke that the only time I'm intimidated driving is on the freeways with the minivans. 9 times out of 10 when I'm driving on the freeway and I'm near a fellow BMW driver, I feel a little more comfortable. I am usually pretty confident the BMW driver isn't going to do something stupid. I drive hard, I drive aggressively. I don't usually obey speed limits and I know the legal risks of that. I really enjoy driving a BMW and truly believe they are the ultimate driving machines.

My wife and I went to our first Bimmerfest in 2006. At the time I had a 2001 330ci Medium Topaz Blue with the ZHP package. I loved that car! What a blast to drive. She wanted to join the caravan up and I was resistant to it. "I don't want to drive in a caravan, it will be 50 mph all the way up" But, I relented, to make my wife happy. (Married guys, nod your head) We got to the Carlsbad Outlet Mall and admired everyone's cars, then came time to take off. When we hit the 5, I was pleasantly surprised. We were moving along at a healthy clip, everyone respecting everyone else and having a good time. We were mostly staying in one continuous line. My only complaint with that caravan was when we were pulling out of the parking lot of the park in Encino was it was a zoo getting back on the freeway, but that's one of the problems with a large group of vehicles. As we got closer and closer to Santa Barbara, couldn't help but notice that the LEO's were pulling over more and more BMW's. Had a good time at Bimmerfest that year.