PDA

View Full Version : Leaking tank help please!

leakingtank1
10-26-2009, 01:08 AM
Excuse my igorance regarding this site..I am very new to all this! However, I want to be more knowledgeable about my beemer instead of taking some dealerships word for it! I posted a new thread under "new member introductions" forum?? Maybe I should have posted it here? If anyone see's it and realizes I've put it in the wrong place will you let me know? thanks for anything....Kelly

CarDriver
10-26-2009, 02:08 AM
"I am looking for any advice on something that happened to my '94 530i recently. I have not had any problems with this car since i purchased it over two years ago. I had a full inspection done on it two weeks ago and was given a good report. 8 a.m. About a week ago..I went to fill up at the gas station. Paid at the pump. When my tank was almost full-I ran inside to grab a cup of Jo-came back outside and the latch on the pump-nozzle was stuck and gas was spewing out everywhere! I had to dis-lodge it with a pen while getting doussed with fuel! Told the manager, for safety reasons. Then left. The car sat at home all day. Around six pm that night I went to run an errand and noticed my parking lot full of gas and I had less than a quarter tank left. I got up under the gas tank and noticed what looked like heavy condensation covering the majority of the tank. Now I am trying to figure out two things-One..is there any sort of "patch" that would temporarily fix the problem that would be impervious to gasoline? Or do I need to replace the entire tank?
And two...is this completely my fault for walking away from my car while fueling? or do you think the gas stations' faulty equipment is to blame? (it would have happened wether I was standing out there or not, right?) These tanks aren't cheap! I would appreciate any input from anyone on the matter. Thanks so much for anyone taking the time to read this! "