PDA

View Full Version : E46 factory H/K system improvement?

st_o_p
11-02-2003, 10:58 PM
After having my new car for about a week I find it perfect in every way except one - the factory audio is a bit more than dissapointing (I have the Harman/Kardon).

I am no audio expert (or even close), but I'd like to know if there is any way to improve it without major modification. I find the basses more than sufficient, but the mid to high range is practically missing. Is that because of the amp or the speakers? I would think that 12 speakers is more than enough, but if it's the speakers maybe replacing/adding couple speakers can solve the problem? I don't know if anything can be done to improve the amp without ripping the whole thing out.

Anybody tried improving the system without completely replacing it (and without spending a fortune) - did it work?

Terry Kennedy
11-02-2003, 11:10 PM
I am no audio expert (or even close), but I'd like to know if there is any way to improve it without major modification. I find the basses more than sufficient, but the mid to high range is practically missing. Is that because of the amp or the speakers? I would think that 12 speakers is more than enough, but if it's the speakers maybe replacing/adding couple speakers can solve the problem? I don't know if anything can be done to improve the amp without ripping the whole thing out.
That's odd - most people complain about a lack of bass. What did you think of my car when you listened to the PhatBox in it? That's also the stock H/K system, aside from the PhatBox and some tightening of the speaker mounting hardware in the doors (to fix rattles, not for any other acoustic reason). Have you tried fiddling with the tone controls? Have you listened to each speaker to make sure they're all working?

If you want to bring the car by sometime, we can compare sound. Drop me a PM if you're interested.

st_o_p
11-03-2003, 08:05 AM