PDA

View Full Version : 20" wheels & Supercharging 3.0

MGR8
12-08-2003, 02:32 PM
Just got my X5 3.0 about three weeks ago. Great car so far, a little slow ... couldn't talk the wife into the 4.6. Just didn't see the need for the 100+ extra HP or $25K Women just don't understand. :mad:

Anyho, has anyone put 20" rims on their 3.0? If so, did you see a big decrease in acceleration? Can't decide between the 19's or 20's. Any feed back would be great. Also, considering the ESS Performance supercharging system, will the trans hold up to increase in HP (334HP)? Has anyone done it and what is your take on reliablity concerns?

Thanks,
MGR8
Brian

Tominizer
12-09-2003, 01:25 PM
There's a few people that have supercharged their 330's without issues. I think you should be fine, but I'm no expert. Can't comment on the 20" but I'd speculate they are not helping out in the quickness department. What sort of pricing did you get on the supercharger installed ????

flashinthepan
12-09-2003, 01:28 PM
20" will hurt you. Its like adding a highway gear to your axle ratio, or the opposite of an acceleration axle ratio. Superchargers are $6000 appx, so dont tell your wife.

:D

TORNADO
12-14-2003, 05:22 AM
I think it depends on the wight of the rims
if it is havy, it will effect your acceleration :)

swindonhost
12-14-2003, 07:17 AM
Just got my X5 3.0 about three weeks ago. Great car so far, a little slow ... couldn't talk the wife into the 4.6. Just didn't see the need for the 100+ extra HP or $25K Women just don't understand. :mad:

Anyho, has anyone put 20" rims on their 3.0? If so, did you see a big decrease in acceleration? Can't decide between the 19's or 20's. Any feed back would be great. Also, considering the ESS Performance supercharging system, will the trans hold up to increase in HP (334HP)? Has anyone done it and what is your take on reliablity concerns?

Thanks,
MGR8
Brian