PDA

View Full Version : Lease duration?

trevdean
09-26-2010, 10:07 PM
Guys my new 550xi is en route and I expect to be able to buy within the next three weeks. I wanted to ask you guys a quick question. I am evaluating a two and three year lease for the car. I am a high mileage driver, minimum 15k annually. Normally I buy my cars but I've recently determined that I like having a new vehicle relatively frequently so I intend to lease the new bimmer. Which leads me to my question ...two or three years?

I know it is more expensive to lease it for two years but I'm drawn toward that option due to 1) new model year, it will potentially have rapid improvements, features, etc., and 2) oyster interior will show wear and tear, live in the mountains and may get dinged on lease return fees the longer I keep it anyway and finally 3) this is my first BMW so I am just not sure what the right "life span" is with 15k per year given warranty concerns.

I would appreciate any and all thoughts from previous owners. FYI the cost per month is several hundred less on the 36 month lease as you might imagine. :dunno:

vortexx
09-26-2010, 10:31 PM
Unfortunately, the current residual rate for the 550 is not that attractive, particularly for a new model. The 535 has a much better residual, so it makes for a better lease deal. Since you are a high mileage driver, and usually purchases, and likes to turn your car in every two years, and given that neither the residual or money factor are currently great, have you considered the .9%, 24 month financing offer? It is a pretty flexible program, since you can choose to have a balloon payment at the end of the lease, up to the residual value of the car. If you do the math between a purchase at .9% and a 2 year lease, the purchase looks pretty attractive. The disadvantage is that you are holding the risk for what the car will be worth, but in this particular case, it seems pretty safe. I almost always lease, but this time I am purchasing.