PDA

View Full Version : 2011 MB E5504 vs. BMW 550ix

dave70
01-05-2011, 10:36 PM
I was about to order the 550ix, but MB offered me more on a trade in for my mercedes and 10k off a new E5504. Although there is an obvious bias on this board (and justifiably so as I tend to be a bigger BMW fan), I was wondering if anyone had any insightful thoughts and opinions....beyond the pure economics of better MB deal.

Thanks!

highyo
01-06-2011, 04:20 AM
I was about to order the 550ix, but MB offered me more on a trade in for my mercedes and 10k off a new E5504. Although there is an obvious bias on this board (and justifiably so as I tend to be a bigger BMW fan), I was wondering if anyone had any insightful thoughts and opinions....beyond the pure economics of better MB deal.

Thanks!

Brand image being what it is, the MB vs the BMW really comes down to your personal taste. I'm not a doctor, so the MB doesnt appeal to me. I have been marketed to very well i assume. Im sure they are both great cars but i believe my response will not be unique on a website known as bimmerfest. The BMW is a no brainer ;).

Munich77
01-06-2011, 04:38 AM
The cars will drive totally different. The one big upside about the MB is that the engine is does have direct injection and a turbo charger. MB does not have factory maintenance standard although you can buy it (which I highly recommend based on the service costs of my wife's 2008 MB E-class). Since you drive an S-class the E-class should give you a reminiscent feel.

The BMW will give you a lot of smiles per mile. BMWs are awesome cars - much more involved than an MB. Either way you cannot go wrong - I would test drive both. I do think that MB looks better considering the higher trade-in they are offering.

B R A N D X
01-06-2011, 08:48 AM
In the past month we've purchased a 550i and a 2011 E350 4Matic wagon. Obviously very different takes on higher-end German cars, but we love them both........possibly even equally.