PDA

View Full Version : Did a sprint against the M3 with interesting results...

fkim011
01-17-2011, 09:43 AM
My car just crossed the 1500 mile mark and I decided to open it up this weekend for a short sprint on the tollroads yesterday morning.

I have a 2011 M3 6speed, space grey on fox red fully loaded up MSRPing 71,XXX.

My 2011 550i is pretty loaded up too with the M Sport, Premium2, drivers assistance ect...

My brother and I have some track experience, and we both come from a long line of 6speed Porsches. I've tracked a GTS, Caymen, Panamera, 911 and a Boxster on closed circuit road courses. I've owned all the above cars as well other then the Panamera which was a Porsche driving event I was invited to.

I would say my brother is a quicker shifter then I am but I take better lines on the track which makes up sufficient amount of time.

We took 2 runs from a roll at 30MPH and got to triple digits where I was ahead of by a hair. From a complete stop he would always get the jump on me but I would start to reel him in from 80MPH on. I had the 550i in sport plus with the traction off and this was straight line only. I think people fail to realize to achieve the numbers BMW or any magazines quote, you have to shift perfectly everytime. In an automatic there really is no mistakes in shifting because the transmission does it itself. But rowing your own gears, perfection is a must and something I still strive for. Every perfect downshift with rev matching, blipping of the throttle and fast notch shifts is pure exhilaration for me and for my brother as well.

I had some interesting observations though- Even with the engine at wide open throttle, I couldn't hear a darn thing inside the cab. I thought this was kind of disappointing.

Where the M3 and the Porsches I had felt like it was being suctioned into the ground at higher speed, the 5 felt "floaty" to me. I know its not a sports car but its something that is pretty evident.