PDA

View Full Version : Scuff marks--how to remove

bobct1
02-14-2011, 11:54 AM
Previous owner backed into an orange cone.

Any recommendations as to how to remove these?

http://184.72.239.143/mu/a6898910-8817-8e28.jpg

dvon
02-14-2011, 01:35 PM
Do the following, this assumes you have access to a porter cable or similar tool, if you don't you'll nee to buy one or take it to a detailer. If you don't have the tools already expect to spend a couple hundred dollars.

1. Wash
2. Clay (should remove any of the orange transfer)
3. Apply polish with porter cable or similar if this does not remove all of the scratches go with something more aggressive like meguiars 105
4. apply polish again if you had to use a more aggressive product

From here you can seal/wax as normal

bobct1
02-14-2011, 04:39 PM
I've never used a clay bar before. Any tips? Go with the direction of the orange transfer? Perpendicular? In circular motions? And what would you recommend for a polish?

BIMMERUSAM5
02-14-2011, 04:45 PM
This section of the forum has all the answers you are looking for. Click on the link and see what you can find....

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=13

dvon
02-14-2011, 04:56 PM
I've never used a clay bar before. Any tips? Go with the direction of the orange transfer? Perpendicular? In circular motions? And what would you recommend for a polish?

Polish won't work without a tool to apply it, trying by hand is going to be a waste or your time and money. It sounds like you haven't done much detailing before, honestly this is a bigger project, if you think you will do more detailing in the future read the detailing section here. If not just pay someone to do it.

As for the clay just watch some video on youtube, it's nut hard but you mainly want a back and forth motion.

bobct1
02-16-2011, 07:28 PM