PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning and Protecting Wheels and Rims - Suggestions?

NecArn
04-25-2011, 08:54 PM
Hello,

I am really new to cleaning wheels and rims, to sealants and waxing, etc. So I need some suggestions with products and application from the experienced members of the forum.

I wash my car every week once and use the Meguiar's Gold Class shampoo and microfibre cleaning towels. It seems to work fine and keep swirling scratches to a minimum. However, wheels and tires are new to me. So today I went ahead and bought Maguire's Aluminium Wheel Cleaner and Hot Shine Tire Spray. I bought the Aluminium wheel cleaner because it seems to be a more delicate product even though I have the alloy M Sport Package wheels.

Would you suggest these products?

I also need help with applying these; is it OK to apply them while the tires are mounted (it must be right)? The insides of the rims should be cleaned and protected as best as possible, I guess, right?

For tire protection I keep reading about Rejex and P21. They seem to be hard to get here. Assuming that I did, should they be applied when the tire is unmounted?

Could anyone give a brief step-by-step tire protection and cleaning guide.

Thanks in advance.

Angelo@properautocare.com
04-26-2011, 06:30 AM
Clean one wheel at a time.
Spray wheel and tire with water.
Spray a fine mist of cleaner over entire tire & wheel. ( P21 Gel Wheel Cleaner, ARO for Tires )
Allow cleaner to dwell for 10 - 30 seconds. (Longer if wheel is extremely soiled.)
Agitate surface with a Tire & Wheel Brush or sponge soaked with car wash shampoo if you don't have a wheel soap.
Hose off thoroughly with a strong water spray.

P21 Gel Wheel (http://classic-motoring.stores.yahoo.net/p2wheelclean.html) is the safest product to use on your rims. P21S is a safe, pH-controlled, non-acid, non-lye based detergent that provides terrific cleaning and guarantees not to damage any type of wheel: painted, clear-coated, polished or anodized.