PDA

View Full Version : Blue Antifreeze

vping
02-14-2012, 08:41 AM
I've seen several threads with people discussing the use of the "Blue Antifreeze" Why is this so special? I'll be replacing the radiator in my '97 528I so figured I'd start asking about this now and wait for the rad to come in.

aioros
02-14-2012, 08:48 AM
The Blue Stuff or BMW Antifreeze is the one designed and recommended by BMW. It's a different formula than the American made counterpart.

cn90
02-14-2012, 08:51 AM
It is special because the color is Blue and has BMW logo.

I have been using Prestone Green on all of my BMWs for 25 years, zero problem.
In fact, for the last 6 years, my E39 has been running on "Prestone Green Long Life".

jygesq
02-14-2012, 09:50 AM

In fact, for the last 6 years, my E39 has been running on "Prestone Green Long Life". maybe bluish green

JimLev
02-14-2012, 10:04 AM

In fact, for the last 6 years, my E39 has been running on "Prestone Green Long Life".

CN, quick Volvo question.
Do the older Volvos also not recommend changing the coolant? My wifes 2001 S60 owners manual says it never needs to be changed, dealer says the same.
Probably just like the BMW lifetime tranny and diff fluids I imagine.

teklord69
02-14-2012, 10:08 AM
I use Preston also the one with 50/50 mix that you can mix with all types of coolant and all colors.

cn90
02-14-2012, 10:33 AM
CN, quick Volvo question.
Do the older Volvos also not recommend changing the coolant? My wifes 2001 S60 owners manual says it never needs to be changed, dealer says the same.
Probably just like the BMW lifetime tranny and diff fluids I imagine.

Yeah,

I am aware of the Volvo thing too. As we discussed many times here, the engine metal (iron or aluminum block, aluminum head) has not changed for 40 years.

Many years ago, Prestone said change coolant every 2y/24K.