PDA

View Full Version : White smoke what could it be ?

528iheat
05-23-2004, 08:01 PM
Hey waz up people, i have a 99 528i auto, well its got 95xxx miles now and the last two todays ago i drove it somewhat hard somewhat too hard. And well now its starting to missfire. So i checked it and it said cylinder number 4 missfire, So i changed all the spark plugs and still it didnt do any better and now white smoke is coming out of the exhuast, only at cold starts cause when it warms up the smoke goes away so i think my cat is getting hot enought to do its job. But still the smoke does not smell like burn oil, i think its unburned gas and air mix, If anyone has had the same problem let me know what you guys did, cause im about to take it to the dealer, and i want that to be my last option. Thanks.

Sterner
05-24-2004, 06:02 AM
I'm new to the BMW business but guess you blew the head gasket. Coolant fluid enters the cylinder(s) and produce white smoke. Further indicators may be noticable loss of coolant fluid, possibly also discoloration of the engine oil (grayish). If it was my car I'd have a qualified service shop fixing it... I'm a "plugs and oil change" kind of guy...!

528iheat
05-24-2004, 06:02 PM
Damn i didnt check the coolant level, good idea, but i didnt see any discolor when i took the spark plugs out.

528iheat
05-24-2004, 06:30 PM
checked oil cap and coolant level ok and color is the same green with no signs of coolant and oil mix. engine still knocks when start and running for a while.

Sterner
05-25-2004, 05:55 AM
Misfiring engines can be quite demanding to diagnose without special equipment. Still thinks a damaged head gasket can be the cause in this case since it gives white exhaust smoke... but then again, who am I to tell, have just some knowledge of old volvos, saab 9k... let's hope the real experts have something to say here!