PDA

View Full Version : Bunch of Questions on New Front Bumper

uwhusky
06-19-2012, 12:35 PM
I have the OEM 535xi Sport front bumper. It's pretty plain and not all that exciting. I've been contemplating replacing it for about 6 months and then this morning I took some piece of metal to the front of my car while commuting on the freeway. It cut my front bumper and so I'm thinking now might be a good time to get a more stylish front bumper. I might even be able to get comprehensive insurance to pay for it.

Umnitza.com has a

E60 (5-series) M5 Tech PolyPropylene Bumper (FRONT)
and a
E60 (5-series) MTech PolyPropylene Bumper (FRONT)

They both look about the same to me. They're the same price but one says M5 and the other says Mtech. What's the difference and does anyone recommend one or the other or something completely different?

Also, do I need to order anything for the foglights or do the old fog lights work in the new bumper?

Oceans10
06-19-2012, 01:32 PM
I have the Mtech. Fits great. Get the new foglights, way better and not expensive. They match the headlights.

uwhusky
06-19-2012, 01:38 PM
I have the Mtech. Fits great. Get the new foglights, way better and not expensive. They match the headlights.

Did you buy from umnitza or someone else?

Oceans10
06-19-2012, 02:12 PM
Did you buy from umnitza or someone else?

Umnitza. As have many others. They ship dirt cheap via Greyhound bus.

xclone
06-19-2012, 03:38 PM
I also have an Umnitza bumper - M5tech. Just be sure to have your painter strip the crappy primer they ship it with.

umnitza
06-20-2012, 04:05 PM
For the Mtech bumpers, they don't have primer, they have a film that the factory applies to it.

The shop should always primer the bumper and paint it as if it's not primered.

The m5tech doesn't have primer on it or that film.

Give us a call if you want anything:)

xclone
06-20-2012, 04:51 PM
For the Mtech bumpers, they don't have primer, they have a film that the factory applies to it.