PDA

View Full Version : Questions regarding lowering springs

First_745Li
06-20-2012, 09:11 AM
I went to my mechanic to get an idea what it would cost to get lowering springs installed (haven't purchased yet) he stated that in lowering the car (since there are sensors on the suspension) I'd would likely trigger about 3 different types of dash indicators. And it might require manual adjustments (not sure I'm saying this correctly).. Anyway, he made it seems as tho it's not a cut and dry install especially if the car has the auto-leveling suspension (which I dont know if the car has it or not). Maybe you guys might know what he's talking about, I'm new to this car so I really need some help.

:dunno:

What else is involved in addition to replacing the springs (with or without auto leveling)?
Are there any programming, coding to the sensors or manual adjustments required?
I thank you guys in advance for your help and suggestions.

DFEL750I
06-20-2012, 09:17 AM
If you have springs all around then you can just replace the springs like any other car. If auto levelling or EDC you might need to put springs in the front and lowering links in the back.

I am not sure about whats involved with the lowering links so wait for someone else to comment. If you have EDC there should be options for it in the settings menu in idrive. Also if you take a look at the rear shocks and they look larger than regular shocks around the top then it means you have EDC. I have springs all the way around so any information on EDC or autolevelling is based on what I have read on here.

First_745Li
06-20-2012, 09:58 AM
Ok thank you. I will check the i-drive menus and physically look at the rear shocks. Appreciate it.

First_745Li
07-01-2012, 11:01 AM
It's all sorted, I called the dealer with the VIN, and they confirmed mine doesn't have auto leveling. So it shouldn't be a problem lowering. I also got some input from SanHonda. Thanks to everyone that shared their thoughts.

Keif
07-01-2012, 04:56 PM