PDA

View Full Version : Considering some simple mods...

CleanE60
07-01-2012, 10:47 PM
I am new to the Bimmer world but i am in love with my car and its potential. My car is a 2010 535i xdrive.

it has 43k on it and all of the original maintenance and warranty coverage to 2016 or 100k. I don't plan on doing anything crazy so there is no need for me to consider upgrading turbo's/running meth but I would like to know you opinion on this setup and the longevity of it with normal Bimmer abuse/TLC! :)

BMS Dual Cone Intake
AFE Silver Bullet Throttle Body Spacer
COBB BMW AccessPORT( I was going to use their stage 1 map)

With this being said and know I won't consider any further upgrades(maybe a downpipe...) and I will drive my car moderately hard and plan to bring it to the dealer to keep it maintained; should I run into issues or nightmares with components? After researching information on multiple sites it appears that the cobb is very easy to use and easily removable before going back to the dealer... I have came to somewhat of a solid conclusion. will my car throw endless codes? what type of ramification should I be concerned of after these upgrades?

thanks for your time!

Arctic-Rodz
07-02-2012, 12:13 AM
those are good mods, especially since its relatively "do-able" to return to stock if you wish.

mermar
07-02-2012, 11:22 AM
I assume you will remove the DCI before going to the dealer - it is obviously a very visible mod that they wont like.

Im getting ready to mod my 09 535 - deciding bewtween CObb and Vishnu tunes. Not sold on the DCI. Wish there was something to give the car a bit more of a performance exhaust note - but no droning, and other noise in the cabin.

booyaazaa
07-02-2012, 12:32 PM
I assume you will remove the DCI before going to the dealer - it is obviously a very visible mod that they wont like.