PDA

View Full Version : Failed CCC (my experience)


Bostoned
07-08-2012, 06:42 AM
I am not looking for help with a recently failed CCC but figured I would share my experience.

After spending a day washing my car and having my doors open for several hours I drained my 5 year old battery.

Replaced the battery by spec and was left with nonfunctioning Car Communication Computer (CCC), the only sign of life was the BMW Splash Screen which always appeared while the car was on and running. The iDrive control was freewheeling.

I took it to an independent BMW mechanic, after watching the tech fumble with the computer appliance like a child with his first erector set I found little confidence in his words when he told me that I needed a new computer, that will be $100 dollars for the diagnostic analysis, thank you and please do not let the door slap you in the ass on the way out. Over several weeks I tried resetting the CCC and disconnecting the battery but to no avail.

So I searched this forum and found information relating to replacing my own CCC and more information on INPA, CARSOFT and PROGMAN. I paid 45 dollars for a cable and downloaded all three software packages, used the forum to configure and use the software (make a very long story short) and was able to get the software to work. Using INPA I accessed the CCC and reset \ activate all which related to CCC really not knowing what I was doing but had very little to lose since I was ready at this point to replace the CCC. I shut the car off for several moments and when I turned on the ignition wow there she was, life was back in my machine.

The one symptom of my failed CCC that made me reluctant to run out and replace it was the fact that the BMW Splash Screen always stayed on.

burnie35
07-08-2012, 08:11 AM
Great job! We don't often hear such a success story when dealing with the CCC. :thumbup:

Mike Swing
07-08-2012, 09:30 AM
Awesome and congrats. Always feels good when you get something done on your own.

bimmerfan52
07-08-2012, 01:46 PM
Yeoman's work! Must leave you with a very satisfied feeling (and more than a few shekels in your pocket). You're now master of your own diagnostic fate. :bow:
Good to hear we are not always beholden to the $tealers or Indies.

What OS did you install the software on? I have heard that most of the diagnostic software likes XP.
I tried installing on Win7 Pro without much luck.

Here's to your persistence and hard work.
Cheers! :beerchug:

Bostoned
07-08-2012, 06:39 PM
You are better off using VMWARE which will allow you to host an XP OS on your windows 7 machine. Even if your laptop is 64bit the hosted XP OS will be 32bit. Additionally you really do not want to dedicate you laptop to only one function which progman will do, the VMWare keeps this from happening.

XIL
09-02-2012, 07:59 PM
Bostoned, Thanks for your post! I too am having the same problem, told the same thing, etc. I am going to try your route as I too have nothing to loose at this point (I already spent approx $1,500 for a new computer 3 years ago and I refuse to again without trying myself first).

Can you please tell me the type of cable you used and where you bought it? I believe we are in the same area, I am North of Boston. I did look myself before asking but I am having no luck with finding what type of cable I should be looking for...thanks in advance!

Bostoned
09-03-2012, 07:43 AM
I bought the cable off of eBay. http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-Diagnostic-cable-INPA-Ediabas-DIS-SSS-GT1-/330606867879?pt=Motors_Automotive_Tools&hash=item4cf9b475a7&vxp=mtr I recommend that you read their instructions to the letter when loading and configuring the cable to work on your laptop. The ebayer is located in Romania but I received the cable and software in 7 days via us postage. Also their email support was very responsive.

I read a number of posts regarding Computer failure and remember that my computer symptoms were slightly unique. Most victims of this problem complained that the screen was completely dead. Well, my screen illuminated the BMW splash screen while the car was running.

By the way my computer is still running great!!

XIL
09-03-2012, 07:56 AM
Thanks so much! I really appreciate the link. Yes, mine is also showing the splash screen so I am hoping that we do have the same problem. I did end up finding the cable but like yours, they all seem to be outside the US. I will go with yours, 7 days doesn't seem bad. I was getting 2 weeks plus at some of the sites. I will post after I do! Thank you again. Happy Labor Day!

Bostoned
09-03-2012, 08:09 AM
I assume you have already tried to reset the computer holding the mute button.

XIL
09-03-2012, 12:41 PM
Yes, multiple times.

Bostoned
09-26-2012, 06:30 AM
Did ya ever get it going?

jcheun4
11-22-2012, 09:37 AM
Hey Bostoned, I'm having the same issue w/ my CCC in my 07 E64.

I've gotten the cable, and downloaded NCS Expert (INPA, etc). All the posts in BMWcoding.com and other forums talk about Coding and changing options (which i really want to get into now)!
But I can't find out where to "reset/activate" the CCC like you did.

Can you direct me to some posts/instructions on how to "reset/active" my CCC (like yours, BMW Splash screen comes on, but then gets stuck a "no mobile device installed") - so the CCC still runs.

Thanks in advance
Jeff

legend700
11-22-2012, 10:01 AM
After spending a day washing my car and having my doors open for several hours I drained my 5 year old battery.



You can deactivate the interior lights permanently by holding down the overhead light button for about 5-10 seconds. Reactivation only requires to push the same button once briefly.

ryanoc
12-20-2012, 08:40 AM
Hey Bostoned, I'm having the same issue w/ my CCC in my 07 E64.

Can you direct me to some posts/instructions on how to "reset/active" my CCC (like yours, BMW Splash screen comes on, but then gets stuck a "no mobile device installed") - so the CCC still runs.

Thanks in advance
Jeff

I can't find those instructions either. A search for CCC didn't help.
Did you ever figure it out?

ucsbwsr
01-17-2014, 09:24 AM
Sorry to dig up an old thread but I would love to get more info on this; I am in the same boat.

Bostoned
01-17-2014, 09:51 AM
Wow, that was some time ago, my idrive is still fine. Can you tell me what events took place prior to the idrive going down?

Bostoned
01-17-2014, 09:57 AM
Unfortunately, I do not recall specifically what I did, I do remember using INPA and at a point where I was reckless and decided to reset any option I could find under CCC in INPA.

ucsbwsr
01-17-2014, 01:40 PM
Thanks for the quick reply. I was removing my steering wheel so I unhooked the battery to not have any altercations with the airbag and my face. When we Both wire and battery terminal were protected during the time they were removed. After reconnecting everything in the car was fine but the iDrive feel into it's current state:

It starts up (you can hear the drive spinning) and the BMW splash screen comes on and after 10-15 seconds the screen shuts off and you can hear the whole system reboot, after rebooting the whole cycle continues endlessly. I have tried the 3 button reset in multiple ways, multiple times, with no success. I am at the point of searching for a new computer and then I found your post about your FrankeniDrive resurrection. Although I have no experience with coding I have a couple programs and a cable.

Thanks for the help,
Evan

Bostoned
01-17-2014, 02:03 PM
I am at work but this weekend I will reconnect my INPA and identify the exact steps I made.

ucsbwsr
01-17-2014, 02:24 PM
Awesome thanks. I sent you my email in a personal message if you prefer. Looking forward to hearing back from you!

skj69nyc
01-17-2014, 02:48 PM
Great job.

ucsbwsr
01-21-2014, 09:53 AM
@Bostoned Hope you had a great weekend, any update?

m.o.r.p.h
01-22-2014, 11:39 PM
@Bostoned - Interested in your steps that you took as well. I was fueling up listening to music on USB and the playback started to skip, like a scratched CD and then the audio completely stopped. The display now just says 'Loading data from the Audio device...'. FM, AM, SAT, CD, and AUX are not selectable. I can view nav, and vehicle stats but audio is non-functioning. I've tried to reset (holding down mute and CD eject buttons simultaneously) the CCC but it just boots back up to BMW screen then to home nav screen with 'SOS call system malfunction!". When I go to 'Entertainment' the 'Loading data from the Audio device...' is shown (as described above).

Ordered the cable found here: http://www.one-stop-electronics.com/shop/index.php?dispatch=products.view&product_id=16

I just received the shipping notice today so I should receive it within the next few weeks.

luisxavier
02-10-2014, 12:30 PM
@Bostoned On the same boat here, would really appreciate if you took us step by step, if it's not an inconvenience.

Thanks!

Newenglandguy
04-07-2014, 03:40 AM
Bostoned - any chance you're still hanging around the forum and can post your step to reprogram CCC? I have the same issue and have just ordered the cable and software. It looks like you used INPA, so I'll go and start researching that. Appreciate any help, as I'm tooling around with not only no Nav, but no radio. Can always use my smart phone.

pepa
04-24-2014, 10:03 AM
i have the same prob , that the BMW logo remains , while trying to boot.
also i did the reset in Inpa at MOST/CAN gateway and CCC , but as soon , as the outside temperature is more than say 12 degr , i get the BMW logo frozen error.

Martyncrease
04-28-2014, 12:50 PM
Press eject on DVD and cd and press the volume at the same time to eject the disk leave the disc in glove box and re-set by holding mute

pepa
04-28-2014, 01:07 PM
i did this reset and also the batterie disconect a few times. no change

Martyncrease
04-28-2014, 01:14 PM
Did you managed to eject the disc

pjinca
04-28-2014, 01:35 PM
Reset procedure may work if the screen still shows BMW logo. If it does not the CCC is dead and will need replacing. This is fairly common on pre-LCI cars, since BMW used bushings on the cooling fans for these years - they made the switch to ball bearing fans later (09/2006 and up cars as I recall). I replaced the CCC in my previous 530 and I fully expect that, at some point, I will be replacing the CCC in my 550. However, next time I will be going with the updated CIC unit instead of the CCC. LOL, that prospect is almost making me hope it dies soon.

pepa
04-29-2014, 12:22 AM
does anybody know, what goes wrong within the CCC , if the BMW logo hangs up ?

the fan works usually ,