PDA

View Full Version : 2008 535i spark plug change at ~ 33,000 miles?

Mikechu
07-21-2012, 01:26 AM
I have a 2008 BMW 535i (N54) with ~33,000 miles. BMW dealership recommends to change the spark plug at this service interval because "it's a turbo engine." Is this true at 33k miles???:confused: I consulted the Bentley service manual and it recommends 100k mile change interval. I'm a bit confused on who to believe :dunno: Any feedback is appreciated.
Note: Vehicle is driven about 4-8 miles/day local street (highway, rarely driven). Climate, desert heat.

tchavera
07-21-2012, 02:33 AM
in my person opinion i would agree. i work on a lot of BMWs but i'm not an engineer by any means. i think the dealer is going based on cars in general. BMW has a high service interval for a marketing reason. like 10k for an oil change is really safe for the engine. any mechanic/technician i've been around or read about normally is in the 50k range. however, the engine would muchly appreciate the tune. the dealer wants the $ because it charges like x3 the actual time frame for the labor rate. i would go ahead and do it if not soon but do it yourself. BMW makes the easiest engines to change the spark plugs on. all you need is a basic socket and ratchet set

Mac Hadley
07-21-2012, 03:53 AM
The recommended spark plug change interval for the N54 is 45K, that's different from other BMWs.

Munich77
07-21-2012, 04:46 AM
The recommended spark plug change interval for the N54 is 45K, that's different from other BMWs.

Yep that is the N54 interval!

BMW535xia
07-21-2012, 05:52 AM
not to bust on you or your thread, but driving 4-8 miles each day is doing your car a huge disservice.

06530IDAN
07-21-2012, 11:16 AM