PDA

View Full Version : No Bass after replacing the ASK unit.


dannyb1027
09-09-2012, 07:02 PM
I replaced My ASK unit with one I got from a Fellow Bimmerfest Guy. My Problem was that I had no sound at all from the left front door speakers and the 2 rear door speakers were very distorted. But I had very strong Bass. Once I installed the ASK unit the D/S front door speakers sounded great but the 2 rear door speakers were still distorted. After restarting my car a few times I had no bass. I suspect I need to program the New ASK unit.

Rhummer
09-09-2012, 07:37 PM
The amp in the trunk runs the two under seat subs as well as the rear door speakers. Sounds like an amp issue. The ASK runs the front door as well as the rear deck sound.

good luck

dannyb1027
09-09-2012, 08:18 PM
But I had great Bass until I replaced the ASK unit. :dunno:

SFbay
09-09-2012, 08:43 PM
But I had great Bass until I replaced the ASK unit. :dunno:

Bass has nothing to do with ask unit.
Just coincidence.... Bad L7 luck

second 7
09-10-2012, 09:46 AM
When you say the amp in the trunk controls the bass are you referung to the logic 7 or is there an actual amp back there ?

Sent from my PC36100 using Bimmer App

Rhummer
09-10-2012, 10:14 AM
The L7 is the AMP, left side of the truck next to and above the DVD player for navigation.

PRBMW7ser05
09-10-2012, 11:02 AM
Lost my bass and I'm in the process of having my Logic 7 amp repaired. Went to YouTube and found a video about removal of L7 amp. Easy.

dannyb1027
09-10-2012, 02:23 PM
The L7 in the trunk. But what are the chances that the a few minutes after replacing the ASK unit my Bass goes flat. I know all about the problems associated with the L7 amp. I'm just not convinced yet. :mad:

vernon3rdw
09-19-2012, 02:49 PM
Sorry to say i do think it is the L7

also its a possible that u blew some type of fuse

dannyb1027
09-23-2012, 06:47 PM
I was able to fix my problem by running INPA and activating the ASK unit..... I did a few things and I'm not sure what fixed it but my BASSSSSSSSSSS is back!!!!!!!!

vernon3rdw
09-24-2012, 07:18 AM
can u tell me what inpa is and how did you activate teh ask?

dannyb1027
09-24-2012, 01:06 PM
INPA is a program I installed on my laptop. then I got a d-can cable from Amazon.
It's hard to explain the rest until you have in running.

collins912
09-24-2012, 06:01 PM
Good stuff DannyB! I know how aggravating it is when your tunes are all jacked up.