PDA

View Full Version : New Imola Red ZHP - Detailing Products Help Needed

Jon Long
08-27-2004, 03:07 PM
OK.. Before anyone flames me, I have been lurking, searching, and reading the forums for the past couple of weeks. I decided to put this thread up in hopes that people can chime in and give their opinions for me in one place.

I'm a new, first-time BMW owner with the purchase of my new '04 Imola Red 330i ZHP. I am certainly no stranger to the products needed in taking care of my cars. However, with the purchase of the ZHP I am in a whole new class of detailing products. :)

What I am looking for is some advice on which are the best products to get for various areas of the car, and where to get them. Please understand that I'm not an expert detailer who is going to be out clay-barring, waxing and polishing every square inch of the car each week (although I have already convinced my neighbors I'm crazy by using the peanut butter trick to get rid of some wax residue on the black trim)... :)

I want to use the best products I can which take the least effort and can be applied in a reasonable amount of time. This is a brand new car, and should not need a lot of prep work on the finish. I just want the most reasonable products to use on a fairly regular basis.

Could people please chime in with their recommendations for the following areas of the car?

* Exterior Painted Surfaces
* Exterior trim areas (black trim, rubber weatherstripping, etc..)
* Wheels (wheel cleaner, wax, etc..)
* Tires (which satin tire dressing?)
* Interior Vinyl (dashboard, door panels, etc..)
* Interior Leather (Lexol is what I used to use)
* Windows (which cleaners can actually get rid of the outgassing haze on the insides of windows??)