PDA

View Full Version : Nav screen without the nav?

drewmvshs
10-27-2004, 09:30 AM
If I install a nav screen in my 528i, but dont install the navigation....what will show up on the screen and/or what would I need to get in addition to the screen to do the install to make it work? thanks. :dunno:

gojira-san
10-27-2004, 09:40 AM
I am not an expert on this, so you probably need to search around on the board. I don't believe anything will show up unless you have the nav box and/or the nav radio. To make everything work you need the nav box, the gps components, the nav radio and the appropriate cables. Again, search around on here and you'll get some more pointers.

alee
10-27-2004, 09:45 AM
Nothing will show up. Without a nav computer (trunk mounted), or a radio module (trunk module), or proper harnesses (running from the trunk to the head unit), it won't work.

drewmvshs
10-27-2004, 09:51 AM
ok thanks guys, I just like the look of the screen and would use it for radio and stuff like that, but dont wanna pay all the extra cash for a nav system when I would never use it.

Technic
10-27-2004, 09:56 AM
ok thanks guys, I just like the look of the screen and would use it for radio and stuff like that, but dont wanna pay all the extra cash for a nav system when I would never use it.

... you can just get the trunk radio with the front display (and appropriate harness) and it will work for only the radio.

drewmvshs
10-27-2004, 09:57 AM
how much is the trunk radio?

gojira-san
10-27-2004, 09:58 AM
Yeah I think you could wire just a radio module in with the appropriate harness but it is a lot of cash to spend for the look.

I thought about putting the full nav in the 528 but I will probably take the cash and buy one of the big Garmin road GPS units - that way it can be moved from car to car.

Technic
10-27-2004, 11:15 AM
how much is the trunk radio?

The latest version is around $430.00 from www.bmwnav.com.

mottati
10-27-2004, 12:22 PM