PDA

View Full Version : E39 Lighting Upgrade - please help newbie

rsh
11-13-2004, 09:34 PM
Hello,

Yes, I'm a newbie to this forum so please forgive me if I'm asking questions that have been answered many times already. I have a 2000 528i and guess I have the upgrade bug like a lot of people get with these fine cars. I'm looking to upgrade to angel eyes and maybe the clear rear light assemblies. I would appreicate it greatly if someone could help me with the following questions.

1. I'm trying to decide on the angel eyes. I can buy the entire assembly or I thought about replacing only the corner parking assemblies inside the housing with clear ones and then adding the angel eyes through an upgrade kit. I was wondering if anyone compared the look between these two options. Inside the angel eye entire assembly, the corner parking light clear cover is partial so you can see the actual bulb from the front. This is kind of cool since it looks like there are three lights. The other option is that I noticed inside the bavarian auto sport magazine was the option for purchasing only the parking assembly that goes into the complete housing. Then I would add the angel eye rings myself. Doing it this way is more work, less money but the parking bulb is completely covered by the clear lense so you only see the two headlights from the front. It gives kind of the E46 look instead. I can't really find pictures of this way so it's hard to compare both options. Any thoughts out there?