PDA

View Full Version : 05 Warranty

carndog
11-18-2004, 03:59 PM
What do the extended warranties cost from BMW and is it cheaper to buy the warranty at the time of purchase or later before the initial one expires. And are there better ways to buy an extended warranty? What should it cost? Thanks, Carndog :mad: :dunno:

subterFUSE
11-18-2004, 05:27 PM
I'm not a proponent of the extended warranty.
They are the #1 most profitable product an auto dealer can sell. The cutomer almost never uses it.

carndog
11-18-2004, 11:13 PM
I have a 99 volvo s80 which I bought at 52k miles with an extended warranty and I think god I have the warranty. My sunroof went bad which cost about $1500 to fix, some other struts went bad,etc. I know for sure there have been $5k worth of expenses that the warranty has covered. My sister right now has a 3 series car that has some bushings and a rear differntial that need fixing and if she had an extended warranty she wouldn't be stressing. I think you are being naive that a BMW won't need warranty work after 50k miles. I guarantee it will need work, look at the consumer reports right now and the WSJ they spell it out. It's a good looking car but let's face it there are going to be problems. But what is a reasonable cost for the warranty? :mad:

lcc014
11-20-2004, 04:14 AM
I asked the dealer before I took delivery of my 05 530i. The extended warranty cost a little bit more than $2000. You can purchase it before the initial warranty expire. It is a 6 year 100,000 miles coverage including the original warranty. So, it extends 2 more years or 50,000 more miles of the original factory warranty.

I bought the extended warranty on my Volvo 850 ($1800), it was worth it. I am not sure how reliable of the BMW especially with all this complex electronics components integrated into the car system !!!

Ching-Ho Cheng

shabbaman
11-20-2004, 11:59 AM