PDA

View Full Version : Gear differential

pamato
11-22-2004, 12:31 PM
What is the gear ratio on a sport 2001 540i, 6 speed MT?

What are the advantages on changing the gear ratio? I am a newbie to BMW and cars, so forgive my rookie questions.

Thanks,

Paul

back_mtn_boy
11-22-2004, 12:49 PM
Higher gear ratio = faster acceleration
Lower gear ratio = better gas mileage (maybe)

Of course, YMMV... ;)

cheers - John

pamato
11-22-2004, 02:19 PM

Of course, YMMV... ;)

cheers - John

How can I find out my gear ratio?

Paul

Steve D
11-22-2004, 02:43 PM
The only gear ratio available is 2.82 for the 6 speed. The Steptronic with sports package came with a 3.15 ratio which you can swap fairly easily. I did the swap and love it. More response and 6th gear is much more useful. My mileage actually went up slightly.

See my swap procedure posted on BMWTips .com for details.

Steve D

Schnell5
11-22-2004, 06:39 PM
The only gear ratio available is 2.82 for the 6 speed. The Steptronic with sports package came with a 3.15 ratio which you can swap fairly easily. I did the swap and love it. More response and 6th gear is much more useful. My mileage actually went up slightly.

See my swap procedure posted on BMWTips .com for details.

Steve D
Are you sure the 3.15 isn't standard with a 540/6? I could swear I recently read it was....

SteveM
11-22-2004, 06:52 PM

Of course, YMMV... ;)

cheers - John

Also, a higher gear ratio (numerically) means a lower top speed (at redline) and the converse is also true (lower gear ratio = greater top speed).

Steve D
11-22-2004, 08:54 PM
Nope, the only gear ratio available with the 6 speed is the 2.82 at least for 97-02 models. Now I read something about the 3.15 being available in some 2003 540/6sp for the final year only. Can anyone confirm this?

Steve D

pamato
11-23-2004, 07:27 AM