PDA

View Full Version : Sirius Cost


KENNEDF
11-26-2004, 09:00 PM
Does anyone have an idea of the approximate cost (parts & labor) to install a satellite radio? I have the “prep” installed, but what do I have to look forward to in order to make it functional?

Thanks!

vulcan747
11-26-2004, 10:11 PM
Very simple to install the bracket and plug in the Sirius.
Your dealer would get around $595 with labor.

Dr. Phil
11-27-2004, 04:51 AM
For my X3 application the parts, labor and tax totaled $538.75 :tsk:
Sirius receiver I-B (pn 84-11-0-153-365)<center>$247.50</center>
X3 Sirius Kit Non-nav (84-11-0-390-240)<center> $43.50</center>
Labor (grab ankles at $79/hour and 2.75 hours)<center>$217.25</center>
Tax<center>$30.50</center>


And there went my $500 cca rebate :ouch:

KENNEDF
11-27-2004, 06:35 AM
Thanks all for replying. Ouch!

mottati
11-27-2004, 09:57 AM
Labor (grab ankles at $79/hour and 2.75 hours)<center>$217.25</center>
:ouch:


Wow, i wish our labor rates were that cheap. That's about 50% of what it costs for labor here in the san fran bay area....

I installed the sirius in my 00 m5 my self. If your car is 'prepped' it's a simple install. Mount the bracket and plug it in. Likely around $300 for the kit.
Mike

craigt-from-atl
11-28-2004, 08:04 PM
If your car is 'prepped' it's a simple install. Mount the bracket and plug it in. Likely around $300 for the kit.
Mike

What if the vehicle wasn't prepped? I'm looking to get sirius, but my e60 didn't have that option.

mottati
11-30-2004, 09:30 AM
What if the vehicle wasn't prepped? I'm looking to get sirius, but my e60 didn't have that option.

I'm not sure about the e60. The original poster had an e39, and by 'sirius prepped' i'm assuming he's already got the updated radio unit.
Mike

Dr. Phil
11-30-2004, 10:15 AM
I'm not sure about the e60. The original poster had an e39, and by 'sirius prepped' i'm assuming he's already got the updated radio unit.
Mike
It has to do with the wiring for the antennae as well (not sure about the head unit being different).

mottati
11-30-2004, 11:11 AM
It has to do with the wiring for the antennae as well (not sure about the head unit being different).

Are you talking about the e39 or e60? Additionally, on the e39 at least, the head unit is not touched. the radio unit is in the trunk, the unit in the dash is just a control interface. I can't think of anything i did as far as antenna connections when I did my retrofit on my M5. The sirius feeds thru the cd harness, the updated radio unit (mounted in the trunk on an e39) can decipher if the code is from the sirius receiver or the cd changer. the sirius antenna feeds into the sirius unit. Again, i replied to this based on my experience installing sirius in my e39, since the original poster has an e39. It could be very different for other models.
Mike

craigt-from-atl
11-30-2004, 11:29 AM
I'm not sure about the e60. The original poster had an e39, and by 'sirius prepped' i'm assuming he's already got the updated radio unit.
Mike

:doh: Ooops. Sorry I mucked up this post with my e60 talk. Didn't notice that we were talking about e39s. With the research I've been doing for the e60, it doesn't look very promising if you didn't get the sat prep kit done.

mottati
11-30-2004, 11:52 AM
:doh: Ooops. Sorry I mucked up this post with my e60 talk. Didn't notice that we were talking about e39s. With the research I've been doing for the e60, it doesn't look very promising if you didn't get the sat prep kit done.



I wouldn't say that just yet. Time is needed for the hackers to figure out how to do it, that's all!
There is no official "sirius kit" for an e39 with nav, if you ask the dealer, it can't be done. If you look at the info on www.bimmernav.com there are pretty straight forward instructions to follow to do it your self! These are the directions i followed, and it does work just like it's supposed to.
Mike