PDA

View Full Version : Getting used to using a Porter Cable buffer (aka newbie fears)

RSPDiver
12-16-2004, 07:36 PM
So, I'm looking to get a PC RO buffer soon, but I'm a nervous newbie (as many are their first time, I'm sure) and don't want to totally F up the paint. Is there any step in the entire process from polish to wax buffing that you guys would suggest to practice with to get used to using it? I would guess wax and buff would be the best, since it's nonabrasive and the final layer. But I was wrong once before, and could be again, in theory at least. :p

Thanks guys.

xspeedy
12-16-2004, 08:06 PM
So, I'm looking to get a PC RO buffer soon, but I'm a nervous newbie (as many are their first time, I'm sure) and don't want to totally F up the paint. Is there any step in the entire process from polish to wax buffing that you guys would suggest to practice with to get used to using it? I would guess wax and buff would be the best, since it's nonabrasive and the final layer. But I was wrong once before, and could be again, in theory at least. :p

Thanks guys.

I wouldn't worry about it too much. It is a random orbital buffer, and so it won't easily burn through paint like a circular polisher. Just start at the lowest speed setting (1). You can begin by using a cleaner wax, like Klasse AIO. Get yourself a pad that is appropriate for use with one-step products.

Make sure the backing plate is tightly screwed onto the PC. You don't want it to accidentally unscrew and fall off the unit.

Don't stay over any ridges for too long, and use light pressure over them. These areas of the body have the thinnest paint and will also see more "wear" from the buffing pad. Try to keep the surface of the pad on the flat surfaces of the paint.

Test_Engineer
12-17-2004, 09:07 AM
practice on your wife's car :rofl:

johnnygraphic
12-24-2004, 10:14 PM