BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

Random electrical issues and I am lost!

3K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  Billwill 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello,
1984 318i
manual
u.s spec
I am new to this whole thing to start. I have a 1984 318i that Ive been seem to having electrical problems with, and dont know what to do with myself because of it... Especially because electrical is the last field I specify in. :dunno: Anyways, I bought my 318i just recently, knowing the odometer and speedometer didnt work, and the front right highbeam was out, That was it. After about an hour of testdriving and trying everything out, I decided it was a good car to buy. Everything other than the things listed above worked, and worked great! I drove it home, and parked it that night, with everything working great. Next morning I went to start it up, and it started great and everyting like it should. Defrosted the winshield being 15 degrees out, went to leave and turned the lights on and no dash lights worked, and the rear right running light was out. All brake lights and headlights worked fine though. The problem is very intermittent, sometimes everything works, sometimes not. It seems sometimes if I mess with the fuzebox that all of the lights come on and work? Sometimes not. Then, one night, after driving it all day, i went to start the car and it wouldnt turn over. I turned the fan on, and it was very low, so I concluded dead battery. I put the battery on the charger and it went straight to green, and after about 40 minutes put it back in the car, started it, and pulled the headlights and it died. And wouldnt turn over again like the first time. Again, I put the battery on the charger fir about 2 hours this time, put it in the car. Started right up, and let it warm up for a bit not using anything but the heater. After about 10 minutes of idling, I pulled the headlight switch, and it seemed to draw alot of power, and drop the idle down about 150-200 rpms. Yesterday, I put a new battery in bec