BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

Purchasing a used 2003 745li

2K views 14 replies 9 participants last post by  Blinky330XI 
#1 ·
Hi all, I'm brand new to this board and looking to become an active member. I've been shopping for a 2003-2004 745i/li and came across a very clean 2003 745li that is pretty loaded. However, the mileage has just past 100k, so past the factory warranty but its priced at $28k. Will I experience any further issues as I would think any gremlins would of appeared by now. Also, since I'm new here, what other maintenance item would I need to swap out after 100k miles? ie, timing belt, water pump, etc. Thank you all in advance as I'm looking forward to join this community. Dave.

PS: Any real changes from 2003 to 2004? There is also a 2004 745i I was looking that has 36k and priced at $40k. Which would be a better buy?
Edit/Delete Message

PSS: I inadvertanly posted this on the 7/8 series thread by mistake :tsk:

#2 ·
AN 04' FOR 40K!!! That is a really good price. I haven't seen many 03's going for too much less than that. As for the100,000+ miles, you probably shouldn't go there. These cars are expensive as hell to repair without the warranty.

#4 ·

Yeah, the 2004 very loaded just like the way I like it :thumbup: My only drawback is the color grey. The 2003 has the brilliant silver that I like and the condition of it looks like its a 20k mile car. The mom and pop dealer for the 2004 offered the $40k. I bet I can probably talk him down a little bit more as the tires are a bit worn.

Thanks all.

#5 ·
Yeah, the 2004 very loaded just like the way I like it :thumbup: My only drawback is the color grey. The 2003 has the brilliant silver that I like and the condition of it looks like its a 20k mile car. The mom and pop dealer for the 2004 offered the $40k. I bet I can probably talk him down a little bit more as the tires are a bit worn.

Thanks all.