Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   E39 (1997 - 2003) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=103)
-   -   new here/car won't start.... sometimes (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=168157)

R540 10-01-2006 08:12 PM

new here/car won't start.... sometimes

Hello everyone. I have been reading this this site for quite some time and think that it is great. I have a question though. I just bought a 1997 540 with the 6-speed. 1 week after I bought it I had a problem with it not wanting to start, it would crank, but not start. I'm new to BMW so I took it to the dealer and diagnosed with car not recognizing the key. Bought new key, shipped from Germany, picked up the car and now it is back in the shop with the same problem. When the car will not start, if I let it sit for an hour or so and come back it usually will start. Also, when it won't start the key remote will not lock/unlock the front doors. Sorry for the long first post, but in need of some help.
Thanks in advance

R540 10-04-2006 05:14 PM

Update: dealership now says that the security control module is ineffective and is not reading the remote/key. However, they cannot guarentee that this will fix the problem. I'm really not excited about paying them to try to fix the problem by replacing one piece at a time. Hopefully this fixes the problem. I'll keep you all posted. By the way, does anybody else have any ideas or have had the same type of problem?

KTrostel 10-05-2006 10:57 AM

If there is a problem with the security control module that could also cause the problem with the car not starting, could not definate. Your point about not wanting to pay to swap parts is valid. I would ask the dealer how they determined that the security control module was ineffective. If their answer sounds fishy - head elsewhere. Try getting a second opinion at a reputable indy.

R540 10-05-2006 05:05 PM