Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   Classic Bimmers (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   Finding value of 1980 BMW 728i (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=418167)

jmo166 12-10-2009 06:48 AM

Finding value of 1980 BMW 728i

I'm new to this scene. But want to learn. My wife's uncle has a 1980 BMW 728i that he would like me to purchase. It's been in storage for the past 15 years. The only thing is, I can't find a value reference. Everything in the car is in German. This car model, as far as I can find, was not offered in the states in 1980. He told me that the last time he registered the car he was told it was 1 of about 4 in the states. It needs work. No, it needs restoratation. There's no rust, but there are tears in the seats, the power steering pump needs replacing, (which I assume won't be easy to find) and I'm curious as to the collectability of this car if I buy it and restore it. Any help is greatly appreciated.

6 Brit 12-10-2009 09:46 AM

you will not get your money out of it
7 series in general have terrible resale value, and if it is in need of a ground up resto then you are going to be doing it as a labor of love not with hope of getting any sort of return.
if it runs it is probably worth 2k at best

DrCharles 12-23-2009 11:54 AM

True, you will never make money fixing up a car and selling it, but that doesn't sound like what the original poster intended anyway. I bought my '81 745i in '91 for $2600 and probably invested $8000 or more in repairs/modifications/improvements, and now it needs rust repair and paint. :confused:

Still, if you average that amount as a monthly payment over the 19 years I've owned it, it's pretty cheap! :thumbup: